How to Exclude People When Making a Will

By Beverly Bird

Most states will not allow you to exclude your spouse from your will. According to the American Bar Association, this stems from the days when wives had no source of financial support except their husbands, and were left destitute without an inheritance. Some states, such as Louisiana and Florida, will not even allow you to disinherit your child. When you exclude anyone who would normally be an heir under your state’s law, it is considered “negative intent.” Consult an attorney to make sure you include the proper wording in your will to prevent your excluded heir from contesting it.

Step 1

Include provisions for every possible asset in your will. If you omit anything, your disinherited heir can claim that you died partially intestate, or with an incomplete will, and can make a claim that the property omitted should pass according to your state’s laws of succession. If she is in line to receive a portion of your estate as an heir, she might then get a piece of anything you omitted even if it was your intention to leave her nothing.

Step 2

State specifically that you are leaving nothing to the person you want to exclude. Don’t just omit mentioning them, warns the American Bar Association. If it is your intention to exclude your child and your state allows that, it may be best to leave them a token amount.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Step 3

Add an “in terrorum,” or no-contest, clause indicating that if the person you excluded contests your will and loses that contest, then he receives nothing. This is usually only effective, however, if you are not excluding someone completely. It may be best to leave him just enough to make him think twice about risking its loss if he loses the contest.

Step 4

Write a separate letter or statement giving your reasons for excluding the person you want to omit, and append it to your will. You can also back up your will with a videotape or digital recording explaining your reasons, but make sure you appear sharp and concise when you make it, and have witnesses present.

Step 5

Safeguard against any claims that you are medically or mentally incompetent at the time you’re making your will by having a qualified professional present when you sign it, such as your doctor. You can also have your doctor make a notarized statement that you are competent, and attach that to your will.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
How to Draft a Will With a No-Contest Clause

References

Related articles

Mississippi Law for Writing a Will

Mississippi covers most eventualities in its laws regarding wills, often to a complex extent. Any person 18 years of age or older can make a legal will in Mississippi if they are of sound mind, but how they can do so -- and the potential for some provisions to be overturned -- vary according to circumstance.

A Last Will & Testament in Illinois

To make a last will and testament in Illinois, you must be at least 18 years of age or be emancipated from your parents by marriage or court order. Your will must be in writing, signed by you and witnessed by two people. Someone may sign your name for you if you are unable to do so, but that person cannot be one of your witnesses. Illinois accepts self-proved wills that might be eligible for simplified probate. A self-proved will is one with an attached notarized statement by you and your witnesses that the will is authentic.

How to Make a Will by Yourself

If you do not have children or do not have many assets, you may wish to write your own will. Courts in most states will recognize a will you wrote yourself as long as your will meets all legal requirements. However, it is wise to consult an attorney for advice or to review your finished will. Also, if you have minor children, a great deal of assets or your estate is complicated in some way, you may wish to consult an attorney for help in writing your will.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help.

Related articles

Pennsylvania's Statute of Wills

Pennsylvania's statute governing wills is called the Probate Code. Like all states, Pennsylvania has its own laws that ...

State Laws on Wills

While all states have their own legislation regarding wills, the laws tend to be similar in most jurisdictions. For ...

What Is the New Jersey Law Regarding Children Left Out of Wills?

Not all states allow you to intentionally disinherit your child, but New Jersey does, according to an article by ...

Wills in New Jersey

New Jersey is more flexible than some states in its laws covering wills and estates. Anyone at least 18 years of age ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED