How to File a Divorce in South Carolina

By Beverly Bird

South Carolina once had a well-deserved reputation for being a difficult divorce state. It did not permit divorce at all until 1949, and it allowed it only on restricted fault grounds for 20 years after that. The legislature has come a long way since then. As of 2011, South Carolina allows all county court clerks to provide you with the forms you’ll need to file for divorce to help you expedite the process. You can also download them from the state’s website.

South Carolina once had a well-deserved reputation for being a difficult divorce state. It did not permit divorce at all until 1949, and it allowed it only on restricted fault grounds for 20 years after that. The legislature has come a long way since then. As of 2011, South Carolina allows all county court clerks to provide you with the forms you’ll need to file for divorce to help you expedite the process. You can also download them from the state’s website.

Step 1

Gather the five forms you’ll need to begin your divorce process, either from the court or online. These include a complaint for divorce, a financial declaration, a certificate of exemption, a summons and a form for a cover letter to the court.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Step 2

Complete your complaint for divorce. If you’re the spouse filing, you are the plaintiff and your spouse is the defendant. The complaint asks for information about your marriage, why you want a divorce, your children, and that you confirm you’ve been a resident of South Carolina for at least a year. Check the boxes that tell the court whether you have an agreement with your spouse regarding your property and debts, or if you need the court to decide these things for you.

Step 3

Fill out your certificate of exemption. This form is only for use if you don’t need the court to decide issues of custody. Check the appropriate box explaining either that you and your spouse have already decided on a parenting plan, that you’ve scheduled mediation so you can work on a parenting plan, or that you have no children.

Step 4

Complete your financial declaration, detailing your income, assets, debts and monthly budget to the court. One column pertains to your spouse’s finances and the other column relates to yours. Attach a copy of your most recent pay stub or paycheck. When you’ve completed this form, take it to a notary public and sign it in front of the notary.

Step 5

Write your name and your spouse’s name on the summons form the same way you did on your complaint, with you as plaintiff and your spouse as the defendant. Date it and sign it at the bottom. This simple one-page form tells your spouse how long he has to respond to your complaint after he receives it. This information is already printed on the form; you don't have to worry about filling it in.

Step 6

Write your names again on the top of the family court cover sheet. If you’re representing yourself, you can leave the line in first section marked “SC Bar #," blank. Your attorney would fill this in if you had one. Check the box that indicates you’re asking the court for a divorce and sign the letter.

Step 7

Take your completed documents to the courthouse for filing. You have a choice of three counties. If your spouse resides in South Carolina, use the county where he lives. You can also use the county where the two of you last lived together. If your spouse does not live in South Carolina, you can file in the county where you live.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to File for a Divorce in Colorado

References

Related articles

New Jersey Petition For Divorce

Every divorce action begins with filing a document that lets the court know you want to end your marriage. In some states, it’s called a petition for divorce or dissolution. In New Jersey, it’s a complaint for divorce. Depending on your divorce grounds, it can be a relatively simple document to prepare.

What Is the Process for Getting a Divorce in GA?

Most states share similar divorce procedures. In all jurisdictions, a complaint for divorce is required to begin the proceedings. One spouse must file it with the court, and in most cases, the other spouse will answer it. The two parties then exchange financial information and either reach a settlement or go to trial for a judge to decide the terms of their divorce for them. Georgia also requires special attention to parenting issues during the divorce process.

How Long Does It Take to Start & End Divorce Papers in Arizona?

If you’ve lived in your Arizona county for at least 90 days, you can file for divorce there even if your spouse lives elsewhere. Unless you have a covenant marriage, Arizona allows you to file on the grounds of “irreconcilable differences” and does not require you to prove your spouse was at fault to get a divorce. However, the earliest a judge can sign your final divorce decree, if you and your spouse both agree on the divorce, is 60 days after the divorce paperwork is delivered to your spouse since Arizona has a mandatory 60-day waiting period.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How to File for Divorce in New Jersey

In 2007, the New Jersey legislature took steps to simplify the divorce process, but the state still has a slate of ...

Florida Divorce Paperwork Checklist

Most lawsuits generate a lot of paperwork, and this is particularly true with divorces. A court needs information ...

How to Prepare a Divorce Complaint

After you get past the “legalese,” a divorce complaint is a relatively straightforward document. It states the facts of ...

How to Divorce in PA After Two Years When a Spouse Does Not Agree on Settlement

If you file for a no-fault divorce in Pennsylvania, you can get a divorce in six months if you and your spouse are in ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED