Where to File Probate Wills in Texas

By Joseph Scrofano

Probate is a process where a court or administrative body oversees the administration of a person’s estate upon that person’s death. A testator is a person who drafts a will. Once the testator dies, the law refers to that person as a decedent. In Texas, the executor of a will must file for probate in the court that has jurisdiction to hear probate matters, which depends on where the decedent resided.

Constitutional County Courts

Texas has 254 political subdivisions within the state, which are referred to as counties. Each county has a constitutional county court. These courts preside over Class A and Class B misdemeanors and civil matters. Generally, these courts have jurisdiction to adjudicate probate matters for decedents who resided within the county. Each county only has a single constitutional county court. The constitutional county courts have original jurisdiction to hear probate matters in most counties. Original jurisdiction means that the court has the authority to hear the case for the first time.

County Courts at Law

In larger counties, the legislature created county courts at law in addition to the single constitutional county court to help administer justice. County courts at law typically have concurrent jurisdiction with county constitutional and district courts. That means county courts can typically have jurisdiction over the same types of cases districts courts and county constitutional courts do. In some counties, probate matters may be brought to county courts at law.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Statutory Probate Courts

Under the Texas Constitution, the State Legislature has the authority to grant jurisdiction to Texas courts over probate. The legislature has granted authority to Statutory Probate Courts located in 10 of the 15 largest metropolitan areas. For example, Harris County -- where Houston is located -- has specially designated Probate Courts that adjudicate probate matters. In counties that have statutory probate courts, wills should be filed in these courts.

District Courts

The legislature has granted some district courts in Texas jurisdiction to adjudicate probate matters. District courts in Texas are state trial courts that possess general jurisdiction. Some district courts cover a single county, while others cover multiple counties. Some large counties have multiple district courts. District court jurisdiction varies from county to county. If no statutory probate court exists in the county, district courts have jurisdiction over probate matters.


Where to file a probate will in Texas depends largely on which county the decedent resided in. The Texas court system is complex, with multiple levels of courts with varying jurisdictions. It's best to contact a qualified attorney licensed to practice law in Texas to find out how the facts of your situation apply to probate court jurisdiction in Texas. This article should not be construed as legal advice.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
What Court Do You Go to for a Breach of Contract?



Related articles

What Is Secondary Custody?

Courts often decide custody matters during a divorce. This includes both decision-making authority and where the child lives. Although terminology can differ among states, the parent who spends the least amount of time with the child is often described as having secondary custody.

Viewing Last Wills & Testaments

A last will and testament is the written description of how the maker of the will -- called the testator -- intends to distribute her property at her death. Heirs receive a copy of the will at the testator's death, but family members and the curious public view it in the courthouse.

How to File a Motion to Remove a Judge in a Divorce Case in Connecticut

Judges are randomly assigned to a case by the clerk of the court and are required to be fair and impartial. However, in certain circumstances, it may be necessary to seek the disqualification of an assigned magistrate presiding over divorce proceedings. The Connecticut Code of Judicial Conduct sets forth circumstances in which a judge may be disqualified from service, including bias, prejudice, having a familial or monetary interest in the case, or hearing the same divorce proceeding after the judge's decision was overturned on appeal. To seek a judge's removal, you must file a motion with the court.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help.

Related articles

Time to Probate a Will in Texas

A Texas decedent's estate must be probated under most circumstances. To go through probate, the will's personal ...

What Is the Virginia Statutory Code for No Fault Divorce?

Filing for divorce can be especially challenging if it is necessary to prove that one of the spouses is at fault for ...

Maryland Statute of Limitations for a Will

A person who drafts his will is known as a testator. A will is the legal document that names one or more persons to ...

The Inheritance Hierarchy Without a Will in New York State

A person who dies without leaving a will is said to have died “intestate.” New York courts distribute intestate ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED