How to Finalize a Divorce With Children by Default in Florida

By Danielle Murray

Divorce is known as "dissolution of marriage" in Florida. The procedure doesn't differ much if minor children are involved, but additional filings are required. It changes more significantly if you must finalize the proceedings by default.

Divorce is known as "dissolution of marriage" in Florida. The procedure doesn't differ much if minor children are involved, but additional filings are required. It changes more significantly if you must finalize the proceedings by default.

Step 1

Prepare your general dissolution documents. They include your Petition for Dissolution of Marriage, Notice of Social Security Number, and a Notice of Confidential Information in Filing. Your petition tells the court that your marriage is irretrievably broken, the only available divorce ground in this state other than mental incapacity. It also lists your requests such as child support, alimony and property division. The Notice of Social Security Number provides your Social Security number, as well as that of each of your children. The Notice of Confidential Information in Filing alerts the court clerk that Social Security numbers are included in your filing and may need to be redacted.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Step 2

Prepare your child-specific documents. These include the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act affidavit and a Child Support Guidelines Worksheet. The UCCJEA affidavit lists the names and birth dates of each of your children, as well as where and with whom each has lived with for the past five years. The Child Support Guidelines Worksheet is required if you are requesting child support. It calculates an appropriate amount of child support based on parents' incomes and other factors, and it must be filed at or before any final hearing that addresses child support issues.

Step 3

Take your documents to the court for filing, along with four copies of a summons form. The clerk will file a copy of your paperwork and sign each copy of the summons, keeping one for the court file. Attach one summons to a copy of the dissolution documents and send this paperwork and one additional copy of the summons to a process server for service on your spouse.

Step 4

File the Return of Service with the court. This is an affidavit signed by the process server, indicating the date and time he delivered your divorce papers to your spouse. The process server should send this to you after he's completed service. Your spouse has 20 days from the date of service to respond to your petition by filing answering documents with the court.

Step 5

Prepare and file a Motion for Default with the Clerk if your spouse doesn't respond to your petition within 20 days. Also send a Default for the Clerk to sign. The Clerk will issue the default without a hearing if your motion is legally sufficient. The default allows you to move forward with a final hearing.

Step 6

Request a final hearing date from the court once the Clerk has signed the Default. You can call the court to request hearing times. When you have the date, time and place of hearing, file a Notice of Hearing with the court and send a copy of the notice to your spouse.

Step 7

Prepare a Final Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage with Dependent or Minor Children and take it with you to your final hearing. You're only required to fill in the case information at the top of the form. Do not check any boxes or fill in any other information; the judge will do so as he makes decisions regarding your case. This document will detail the terms of your dissolution, as well as custody of your children and child support, and it is final after the judge signs it. Make sure you get a copy of the final judgment because it serves as official proof of your divorce.

Step 8

Attend the final hearing. The judge may grant you a judgment terminating your marriage, if your spouse has not responded to your petition. A default means that your divorce is uncontested, so you would typically get the things you asked for in your petition for dissolution. Because you have children, however, the judge may not grant all of your requests right away. He may put the proceedings on hold for a period of time to allow for counseling, reconciliation, any other procedures he feels are in the best interest of the children. The judge will tell you what to do next if he does not immediately grant your dissolution.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
What Is the Divorce Process in Michigan?

References

Resources

Related articles

How to File Your Own Divorce Papers in Tennessee

In order to file for divorce in Tennessee, you must draw up the necessary papers, file them with a court clerk, have them served on your spouse and attend a public hearing on the matter. A marital settlement agreement is the key document that sets out the terms of the divorce and is incorporated into the court's final decree.

How to Get a Default Judgment for a Divorce in Kentucky

Kentucky is a no-fault divorce state. Parties do not have to allege any particular fault in their divorce complaint beyond “irretrievable breakdown of the marriage.” If your spouse is served and does not answer, or if you aren’t able to locate your spouse for service, you can get divorced via default judgment. Getting a default judgment in Kentucky requires following a strict procedure. The judge’s order will depend on the method by which you obtained the default judgment. Each county will have its own set of rules, so make sure to check with your county clerk before you get started.

How Long Does Divorce Take in Michigan if You Have No Children?

Establishing custody and support for a minor child can be a time-consuming aspect of the divorce process. These matters often become highly contested and Michigan law imposes a longer waiting period for divorces if you have children. Otherwise, the time it takes to finalize any divorce generally comes down to how quickly you and your spouse can agree on all issues and reach a settlement.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How to File for a Divorce in Colorado

Divorcing in Colorado is a relatively straightforward process. The rules are clear-cut and the courts are helpful in ...

How to File for Divorce in New Jersey

In 2007, the New Jersey legislature took steps to simplify the divorce process, but the state still has a slate of ...

How to File an Answer to a Divorce Summons

When you receive a Summons and Complaint in a divorce action, you typically have 20 days in which to respond. Your ...

How to Change the Last Name of a Child in Georgia

Both parents must agree to change the name of their child in Georgia. Georgia only allows one parent to change the ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED