Who Gets the Responsibility of Medical Insurance After a Divorce in New Hampshire?

By Heather Frances J.D.

If you receive health insurance through your spouse’s plan, provided by his employer, you may lose your eligibility for that insurance plan when you divorce. Though state laws vary on this issue, New Hampshire law enables a spouse who is covered under her spouse’s plan to continue coverage under certain circumstances. Additionally, federal law provides some continuation rights, and courts can order one spouse to pay for the other spouse’s insurance coverage.

Continuation Rights

New Hampshire’s continuation statute, RSA 415:18, VII b, became effective on January 1, 2008. It allows you, as a former spouse, to maintain insurance coverage under your ex-spouse’s employer-sponsored group policy for up to three years after your divorce, unless you or your ex-spouse remarries or dies during that three-year period. This law applies to medical and dental coverage; it can be terminated earlier than three years if early termination is allowed by your divorce decree. You only have the right to continue coverage under this law if your ex-spouse remains eligible for that insurance plan; therefore, if your ex-spouse gets fired or quits, your continuation benefits terminate.

COBRA Coverage

You may also be eligible for coverage under the provisions of the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act, or COBRA. COBRA coverage applies as long as your ex-spouse’s employer has at least 20 employees. However, COBRA is a self-funded option, meaning you must pay the full amount of the insurance premiums without any contributions from the employer. As a result, COBRA coverage can be prohibitively expensive. If you want COBRA coverage, you must inform the plan administrator of your choice within 60 days of the divorce; coverage continues for a maximum of 36 months.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More


You and your spouse can agree that he will pay a portion of your insurance coverage costs or maintain an individual health insurance policy for you, then include this agreed-upon obligation in your marital settlement agreement. If you cannot reach agreement, a New Hampshire court might order your ex-spouse to contribute to your insurance costs, particularly if you are otherwise unable to pay for your own insurance. Courts can also consider the cost of health insurance as one of your needs for purposes of determining an alimony amount.


Your child’s eligibility for health insurance is unlikely to change because of your divorce since he is still considered your ex-spouse’s dependent. New Hampshire child support orders include directions regarding health insurance and other medical costs. If health insurance is available at a reasonable cost, as determined by New Hampshire law, the court must order a child’s parents to provide insurance for the child. If affordable health insurance is not available at the time of your divorce, the court can include a statement in the child support order requiring you and your ex-spouse to purchase insurance should it later become available at a reasonable cost.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
New York State Health Insurance Rules When Getting a Divorce


Related articles

Ohio Health Insurance to a Spouse Post-Divorce

Families often receive health insurance as part of a group plan through one spouse’s employer, but when the spouses divorce, one spouse can lose her eligibility for coverage. However, a spouse who loses her eligibility because of divorce can elect to continue coverage -- with certain restrictions -- and Ohio courts can require one spouse to pay for a portion of the other spouse’s post-divorce coverage.

When You Get Divorced How Long Does Your Insurance Coverage Last?

How long your insurance coverage lasts after divorce depends on the kind of insurance your ex-spouse has. If your ex-spouse works for a large employer, federal law permits you to keep your insurance for up to 36 months. If your ex-spouse works for a small employer, state law could allow you to keep your insurance, but the length of time you may keep it varies depending on the law of the state where the employer is located. However, you might fare better by buying your own insurance upon divorce because you could save money and obtain better coverage than under your ex-spouse's insurance.

Health Insurance Laws During Divorce in Texas

Families often obtain health insurance through one spouse’s employer-sponsored group plan; however, you likely will lose your eligibility for your spouse’s plan when your divorce becomes final. Texas judges typically issue temporary orders that keep the uninsured spouse on the insured spouse’s plan while the divorce is pending. After the divorce becomes final, Texas law does not force insurance companies to continue coverage for the uninsured ex-spouse, although federal law does provide an option.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Divorce Laws on Court-Ordered Health Insurance

Divorce changes your legal status, and you may lose health insurance benefits because you are no longer married. Your ...

Georgia Health Insurance Laws Concerning Divorce

Many spouses have health insurance coverage through their spouse’s group plan, but that eligibility changes when they ...

Divorce Law & Health Insurance in Oregon

If you are on your spouse's health insurance plan, your insurance coverage will automatically end when your divorce is ...

Connecticut Law on Medical Coverage After a Divorce

In Connecticut, medical coverage ends for a spouse who is covered under the other spouse’s plan once the divorce is ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED