What Happens When You Don't Pay Child Support in Illinois?

By Mary Jane Freeman

Every child has a right to receive care and support from her parents, and this parental responsibility doesn't end simply because a relationship or marriage ends. In Illinois, a non-custodial parent must financially contribute to the upbringing of his child by providing child support to the custodial parent. If he fails to do so, the custodial parent may seek help from Illinois' Division of Child Support Services, which pursues several remedies, including wage garnishment, property liens, revocation of licenses, interception of tax refunds and criminal prosecution.

Child Support Enforcement Program

The national Child Support Enforcement program works in partnership with states to ensure children are financially supported by their parents. This is done by locating non-custodial parents, establishing paternity and support obligations, and enforcing child support orders. At the state level, this responsibility is carried out by the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services' Division of Child Support Services, typically through its regional county offices. Once awarded, child support orders are recorded in the DCSS database and payments subsequently monitored. Once a custodial parent notifies DCSS of the other parent's failure to pay court-awarded child support, DCSS begins collection activity against the non-paying parent. However, if a custodial parent is receiving public assistance, this is done automatically.

Wage Garnishment

Once a parent enlists the help of DCSS, the agency first attempts to collect past-due child support from the non-custodial parent's wages, commonly referred to as wage garnishment. DCSS serves the parent's employer with an Income Withholding for Support request and instructs the employer to withhold an additional amount in child support from the parent's earnings. The order remains in effect until the past-due balance is paid in full. If the non-custodial parent is not subject to income withholding, DCSS may require him to post a bond, security or other guarantee of payment.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Other Financial Attachments

If wage garnishment is unsuccessful or not possible, DCSS will employ other methods to collect past-due child support, either one at a time or in combination. These methods include the interception of federal and state tax refunds, seizure of bank accounts, and property liens. Before taking such action, however, DCSS will send a letter to the non-custodial parent informing him of the department's intentions. DCSS may also employ private collection agencies to assist with the collection effort.

Revocation of Licenses

In addition to attaching wages and seizing property, DCSS may request the suspension, revocation or denial of a non-custodial parent's driver's license, U.S. passport, or professional, occupational or recreational license for non-payment of child support. Under the Family Financial Responsibility Act, DCSS may eliminate a non-custodial parent's driving privileges once the parent becomes 90 days or more delinquent with child support payments. A non-custodial parent may avoid this action by paying all past-due child support before the effective date of the suspension.

Criminal Prosecution

If a non-custodial parent refuses to pay court-ordered child support for more than a six-month period or owes more than $5,000, DCSS may request state or federal prosecution of the parent for non-payment of child support. The non-custodial parent may face fines and imprisonment, with the amount of fines and duration of imprisonment increasing with the severity of the non-payment. For example, a non-custodial parent may be convicted of a Class A misdemeanor for failing to pay child support for six months or owing more than $5,000. However, that same parent could be charged with a Class 4 felony and imprisoned for one to three years if he is more than $20,000 past due in his child support obligation.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Ohio Child Support Laws for Public Assistance
 

References

Resources

Related articles

Is There a Statute on Collecting Child Support in Michigan?

Section 722.3 of the Michigan Compiled Laws is the statute that obligates parents to support their minor children. Michigan courts may order a non-custodial parent to pay the custodial parent support for the care of their minor child. The goal of child support in Michigan is not to punish parents but rather to help parents establish a financial partnership for the sake of their minor children. Child support can include payment of the minor child's health care, child care and educational expenses.

Kansas Laws on Non-Payment of Child Support

Kansas monitors child support by requiring parents to make their payments through the Kansas Payment Center. Language to this effect must be included in every new or modified child support order. Under both state and federal law, child support payments are made through income withholding orders, or IWOs. IWOs obligate a parent's employer to deduct child support from his wages or salary and forward it to the state. If a parent is unemployed or self-employed, however, IWOs may not work and a parent can fall behind with payments.

Texas Child Support Questions

Child support is the financial assistance paid by one parent to the parent with primary custody of the children after the parents divorce or separate. The Texas Family Code outlines how child support is calculated, when an order can be modified and when the support order terminates. The law also sets forth the procedures for enforcing a support order that goes unpaid.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Can Child Support Suspend Passports?

Following a divorce or failed relationship that produced a child, support is often ordered by the court. The ...

Tennesse Child Support Laws

Tennessee law emphasizes each child's right to financial support from both parents regardless of the parents' ...

What Are the Sentencing Guidelines in Michigan for Nonpayment of Child Support?

In Michigan, when a court orders a noncustodial parent to pay child support, he must do so until the child turns 18 ...

Idaho Child Support Laws for a Non-Paying Parent

When parents separate or divorce, the custodial parent is typically entitled to child support from the parent who does ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED