What Happens When Someone Dies Without a Will in Nebraska?

By Heather Frances J.D.

If someone dies with a valid will, the will leaves instructions about who should manage his estate and who should inherit his property. But, when a person dies without a will, he is said to have died “intestate” and Nebraska’s laws of intestate succession govern the way his estate is managed and distributed.

Opening Probate

An estate must go through the probate process, even when the decedent dies intestate. A probate case begins when someone files an application for intestate probate in Nebraska. This opens the estate for claims and contests. Typically, one of the court’s first acts is to appoint a personal representative to manage the estate. The decedent’s surviving spouse has priority under Nebraska law, followed by other heirs. If no personal representative is appointed within 45 days after the decedent dies, any of his creditors can ask to be appointed as personal representative.

Probate Vs. Non-Probate Assets

Not all assets transfer from a decedent through the probate process. For non-probate assets, it does not matter whether or not a decedent had a will since the transfers are outside probate. Generally, non-probate assets include any assets to which the title was transferred before the decedent died, by right of survivorship or by contract. For example, life insurance is often a non-probate asset; it pays directly to beneficiaries without going through a court process.

Get a free, confidential bankruptcy evaluation. Learn More

Settling the Estate

In Nebraska, the overall process for administering an estate when the decedent dies intestate is largely the same as when the decedent dies with a will. The estate’s personal representative must gather the estate’s assets and inventory them, notify and pay the decedent’s creditors and distribute any remaining assets to the decedent’s heirs. However, since there is no will to guide the personal representative, he must act according to the terms of Nebraska law instead of the terms of a will.

Distribution

The biggest difference between probate with a will and without a will is that state law determines the intestate decedent’s heirs. Nebraska law presumes that the state knows who the decedent would have wanted to leave his property to. Under Nebraska law, the decedent’s surviving spouse inherits his entire estate if he had no children or surviving parents. If he had a surviving parent or children from the marriage, the surviving spouse inherits the first $100,000 from the decedent’s estate plus half the rest of the estate. If the decedent has at least one child from a previous relationship, the surviving spouse inherits half the estate. The remainder of the estate, or the whole estate if there is no surviving spouse, goes to his children. If the decedent has no surviving spouse, descendants or parents, Nebraska law provides further guidance for distribution.

Get a free, confidential bankruptcy evaluation. Learn More
How to Divide Property Among Heirs in Mississippi
 

References

Related articles

Michigan Death Estate Settlement Procedures

When someone dies, her estate must be settled. The settlement process includes following the terms of the will, paying off the deceased's debts and taxes, selling or giving away her property, and dealing with the probate court. In Michigan, the person who oversees estate settlement is known as the personal representative of the deceased; this person is either named in the deceased's will or chosen after her death by the probate court.

Dying Without a Will in Kentucky

If a person dies without a valid will, the law describes it as dying “intestate.” In this situation, the laws of the state where he lived dictate the allocation of his estate. In Kentucky, Chapters 391 and 392 of the Kentucky Revised Statutes set out the law relating to distribution of assets when an individual dies without a will. Kentucky operates a complex system of dower and succession laws to provide for the surviving spouse and other relatives of the deceased, known as the decedent.

Virginia Inheritance Law for Siblings

If your brother or sister dies owning property in Virginia, your sibling’s will and Virginia law determine whether you inherit anything from the estate. If he left a valid will naming you as a beneficiary, you are eligible to inherit as his will directs, after his creditors are paid. If he didn’t leave a valid will, you may inherit under certain circumstances.

Related articles

Probate Laws for Dying Without a Will in Minnesota

Even when people don’t write a will that dictates how they want their assets distributed when they die, most do leave ...

New York Estate Law When the Executor Dies

New York, like all other states, recognizes a written will as the proper method for making your wishes known as to the ...

Death Without a Will in Michigan

Under Michigan law, when a person dies without a will, it is said the person died intestate. The law has rules for what ...

If Your Spouse Dies With a Will, Does It Need to Be Probated?

Your spouse’s estate must generally go through your state’s probate process regardless of whether your spouse had a ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED