Iowa Divorce Rules & Regulations

By Bernadette A. Safrath

Divorce laws are different from state to state. Iowa's procedures for divorce, also called dissolution of marriage, are set forth in the state's code. The law addresses the requirements that must be met in order to file in Iowa, as well as the procedures for dividing the marital property and awarding alimony.

Filing Requirements

At least one spouse must have been a resident of Iowa for at least one year prior to filing for divorce in the state. To begin the proceeding, one spouse must file a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage in the District Court located in his county of residence. The Iowa Code has a mandatory waiting period of 90 days, from the date of the initial filing, before the court can finalize the divorce.

Grounds for Divorce

Iowa law requires that a petition for dissolution state the grounds, or reasons, for which the divorce is being sought. The state recognizes no-fault divorce, so a spouse does not need to establish that misconduct, such as adultery or abuse, occurred and led to the end of the marriage. Instead, the filing spouse must claim "irretrievable breakdown" or "irreconcilable differences." This means the marital relationship has suffered and there is no chance for reconciliation.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Division of Assets

When spouses divorce in Iowa, they are entitled to maintain ownership of their separate property. Separate property is any property owned prior to the marriage and any inheritance received during the marriage, so long as it was never commingled with marital property, for example, deposited into a joint bank account. All other marital assets are divided in accordance with Iowa's "equitable distribution" statute. This means the court will divide property fairly between the spouses, though not necessarily equally, based on such factors as the duration of the marriage, each spouse's income, each spouse's contribution to the marriage (i.e. wage earner vs. homemaker), whether either spouse is receiving alimony, whether the spouses have children, and which spouse has custody.

Eligibility for Alimony

Alimony is financial support paid by one spouse to the other, often when one spouse has significantly less assets than the other. When determining the amount and duration of alimony payments, an Iowa court will consider several factors. They include the value of property each spouse received during division of the marital assets, the requesting spouse's age, any health conditions, and the requesting spouse's ability to work and income earned. Additionally, the court will examine the custody arrangement for any children, especially if there are young children preventing the requesting spouse from working, or if the requesting spouse needs time to complete an education or training program in order to rejoin the workforce.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Filing No Fault Divorce in Pennsylvania


Related articles

How Do I File for Divorce in Oregon?

In Oregon, divorce is called dissolution of marriage. Either spouse can file for dissolution and must do so in accordance with the procedures set forth in the Oregon statutes. During the dissolution proceeding, a court may divide marital property, award alimony, decide custody issues and terminate the marriage.

Divorced Spousal Rights in Florida

When a marriage ends, each spouse has certain rights during the divorce process. With no consideration of gender, Florida courts will divide the spouses' property between them. Either spouse can seek alimony and either spouse may be awarded custody of their children as well as child support. Florida does not require grounds for dissolution of marriage so either spouse can file based on "irreconcilable differences" as long as at least one of them has been a state resident for a minimum of six months.

How to Legally Separate in Tennessee

Tennessee recognizes legal separation which authorizes married couples to live apart. A legal separation is essentially the same as a divorce in Tennessee, except that the spouses cannot remarry. The grounds for separation are the same as the grounds for divorce, and the court can rule on all of the issues usually dealt with in a divorce, except for the dissolution of marriage. Child custody, financial support and distribution of assets can be incorporated into a legal separation decree.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Alimony Laws in Kentucky

Alimony, called "maintenance" in Kentucky, may be awarded to one spouse during a dissolution of marriage proceeding. ...

New York State No Fault Divorce Laws

Every state recognizes no-fault divorce, but that wasn't always the case. Until recently, if you wanted a divorce in ...

How to Figure Alimony Payments in Iowa

After divorce, one spouse is sometimes left without financial resources to support herself, but alimony -- sometimes ...

Filing for Divorce in Virginia With Adultery & Abandonment

When spouses decide to end their marriage in Virginia, they can file for no-fault or fault divorce. A fault divorce ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED