Kentucky Divorce Laws

By Heather Frances J.D.

Even if you did not marry in Kentucky, Kentucky law governs divorces filed in Kentucky courts. You or your spouse must live in Kentucky for at least 180 days before filing. At the end of your divorce process, the judge will enter a divorce decree addressing the important aspects of your divorce, including property division, child custody and spousal support.

Grounds

Courts must have grounds upon which to base your divorce. Kentucky is a pure no-fault state, which means Kentucky courts do not consider misconduct of any kind when issuing a divorce. Instead, Kentucky law allows spouses to divorce on the ground that the marriage is irretrievably broken. Unlike fault-based grounds available in other states, this ground requires no special proof from the spouse filing for the divorce. While Kentucky also requires the spouses to live apart for 60 days before the court enters the divorce decree, this period of separation is not considered grounds for a divorce.

Property Distribution

Kentucky is an “equitable distribution” state, which means Kentucky courts divide marital property and debts equitably between spouses, but not necessarily equally. Marital property is all property spouses acquire during their marriage except certain property such as gifts and inheritances. To decide on an appropriate distribution, courts consider several factors, including each spouse’s contributions to marital property, the length of the marriage and the economic circumstances of each spouse.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Custody

Spouses can agree on a way to divide custody of their children, and the court can adopt that plan in the divorce decree. If spouses cannot agree, the court divides custody in the best interests of the child, using such factors as the wishes of the parents and child, the health of all involved, the child’s adjustments to home and community and any history of domestic violence. Kentucky courts can award joint or sole legal custody, which is the right to make important decisions for the child. Many Kentucky judges avoid awarding joint residential or physical custody -- the day-to-day care of the child -- because it can be hard on a child to move between homes frequently.

Spousal Support

Courts in Kentucky may award spousal support, or maintenance, to either spouse, but spousal support is not based on a set formula that applies in every case. Instead, courts must first determine that the spouse seeking support lacks sufficient property to provide for her needs and is unable to support herself through employment. Then, the court decides how much support is appropriate based on several factors, including the length of the marriage, the standard of living the spouses established during their marriage, the age of the spouse seeking maintenance and the ability of the paying spouse to pay.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Do You Have to Wait 30 Days for a Decree of Divorce in Arkansas?

References

Related articles

Laws Governing Child Custody in South Carolina

Divorcing spouses in South Carolina who agree on how to split custody of their child are free to come up with their own parenting plan that suits their needs and the needs of their child. As long as a South Carolina court finds the plan to be in the child’s best interests, the court will adopt the plan as part of the divorce decree. If spouses cannot agree, the court will create a custody plan for them according to the child’s best interests.

Filing No Fault Divorce in Pennsylvania

Courts used to require a spouse to prove fault, or reasons for the failure of the marriage, such as abandonment or adultery, before a divorce action could be filed or granted. Pennsylvania, like many states, has changed this limitation and added the availability of no-fault grounds for divorce. Thus, a spouse can file for divorce in Pennsylvania so long as she has been a resident of the state for at least six months.

Divorce Decrees in the State of Connecticut

When a Connecticut couple chooses to end their marriage, they must obtain a divorce decree from a Connecticut court. A Connecticut divorce decree addresses items such as child custody and support, spousal support and property division, in addition to dissolving the marriage. If circumstances change after the initial divorce decree, the court may modify certain elements of the decree.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Divorce & Child Custody Family Law in California

California spouses can agree to the terms of their divorce, including child custody, or they can allow the court to ...

Requirements for a Divorce in a Kentucky Prison

Filing for divorce in Kentucky is a relatively straightforward process, with the steps largely influenced by your ...

Divorce in Florida Family Law

Florida is a pure no-fault divorce state, which means the only reason for divorce in Florida is that a marriage is ...

Divorce Laws for Washington State

Since divorce is governed primarily by each state’s laws, Washington law governs marriages and divorces within the ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED