Legal Spousal Inheritance Rights in the State of Kansas

By Bernadette A. Safrath

The property in a person's estate is passed to his beneficiaries when he dies. Many people prepare for this by making a will naming the people who will receive their property. A surviving spouse is almost always a beneficiary. However, if a spouse is disinherited, Kansas law provides a remedy that permits the spouse to still inherit from the estate. Additionally, if a person died without a will, a surviving spouse inherits through Kansas' "intestate succession" laws.


A surviving spouse may inherit any bequest in a decedent's will as long as the will meets the requirement set forth in the Kansas Probate Code. The law requires that a person making a will, called the testator, be no less than 18 years old. A testator must also be "of sound mind," meaning mentally competent to knowingly and voluntarily dispose of his property. The will must be in writing and the testator must sign the document. The will signing must take place in the presence of two witnesses, neither of whom are beneficiaries in the will.


The homestead allowance is a right granted to the surviving spouse after the decedent's death. In Kansas, the allowance permits the surviving spouse to maintain ownership and possession of the marital residence until the spouse remarries or any minor children reach the age of majority. When the homestead allowance terminates, the residence will pass to the beneficiary in accordance with the will or intestacy law. In addition to the homestead allowance, a spouse is entitled to a family allowance of up to $35,000 to support herself and any children after the decedent's death.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Elective Share

The Kansas Probate Code sets forth a surviving spouse's rights if she is disinherited (left out of a will). A surviving spouse is entitled to an "elective share" from the decedent's estate. In Kansas, the elective share is based on the length of the marriage. The minimum elective share is $50,000. Otherwise, a spouse is entitled to 3 percent of the estate for every year of marriage from one to 10 years -- for example, 6 percent for a two-year marriage or 27 percent for a nine-year marriage. The elective share award then begins going up by four percent -- 34 percent for an 11-year marriage or 38 percent for a 12-year marriage). The maximum elective share award is 50 percent of the decedent's estate when a surviving spouse was married to the decedent for 15 years or more.


Even if a decedent did not have a will, a surviving spouse is the first beneficiary entitled to inherit the intestate estate. Chapter 59 of the Kansas Statutes, called the probate code, sets for the spouse's rights to the estate. If the decedent is not survived by children, a surviving spouse will inherit the entire estate. When a decedent has children, the surviving spouse's inheritance is limited to one half of the estate, while the children divide the rest of the estate.


A surviving spouse must have been married to the decedent at the time of his death in order to be eligible to inherit. This means that even if a decedent did not amend his will, if he and the spouse divorced prior to his death, any provisions in the will leaving a bequest to a former spouse are considered revoked. If the decedent died without a will, a former spouse has no claim to the estate under Kansas' intestacy laws. (Reference 1)

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
Can a Spouse Be Excluded in a Will in Illinois?


Related articles

North Carolina's Inheritance Law

When a person dies with a valid will in North Carolina, his property will pass to the beneficiaries he named in his will. A valid will is one in which the maker is at least 18 years old and mentally competent, and the will was properly signed in the presence of witnesses. Without a valid will, a person's estate passes to his surviving relatives in accordance with North Carolina's intestate succession laws.

CT Laws on Wills & Estates

When someone dies in Connecticut, the executor -- the person appointed in the will to carry out its terms -- has 30 days to submit the will to the probate court in the county where the deceased lived. The exception is if the deceased’s entire estate is valued at less than $40,000 and includes no real estate that requires transfer of title.

Probate of a Will for a Surviving Spouse in Illinois

Probate is a legal process that occurs after a person's death. When the person dies, all of his assets – called his “estate” – are gathered and then distributed to his beneficiaries as stipulated in his will. During a probate in Illinois, a decedent's surviving spouse has certain clearly defined rights to the estate.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help. Wills & Trusts

Related articles

South Carolina Estate Laws

All of the property a person acquires during his life is collectively called an estate. When that person dies, the ...

Tennessee Estate Laws

Tennessee's estate laws govern how a person's property, collectively known as the estate, is to be divided upon his ...

The Widow's Legal Rights in South Carolina

South Carolina law provides a surviving spouse with the right to inherit from her deceased spouse's estate. An estate ...

How Much of a Husband's Estate Is a Widow in Florida Entitled To?

In Florida, a husband is free to leave everything to his wife in his will, if he has a will. However, if he doesn’t ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED