Is Life Insurance Required in New York State Law in a Divorce?

By Teo Spengler

Life insurance can play an important role in a divorce. A divorce court can require that an existing life insurance policy be maintained with the ex-spouse or minor children as beneficiaries. It can also order a divorcing spouse to obtain and maintain such a policy. However, obtaining a life insurance policy is not a general condition of a divorce in New York.

New York Divorce

As in every other state, a New York divorce can be difficult or expedited depending on whether the couple agrees on divorce issues like property division, child custody and support. If one spouse qualifies for residence under state laws, either spouse can file a petition for divorce in the New York Supreme Court. Forms are available from the courts and also from online legal service providers.

Marital Property

In New York, marital property to be equitably divided upon divorce includes all property acquired by either spouse from the day of marriage through the divorce filing. it excludes property either spouse received through gift or inheritance or to compensate for pain and suffering in a personal injury case. Life insurance policies purchased or paid for during the marriage are marital property and subject to equitable division by the court.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Divorce Agreement

Sometimes a divorce agreement may specify that a spouse paying support maintain a life insurance policy to protect his children or former spouse in case he dies before his obligations terminate. If a New York court approves the agreement, its decree essentially orders the parties to follow the terms they agreed to, including any terms regarding the life insurance policy.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Is a Divorce Decree Supposed to Be Signed by the Petitioner & the Respondent?

References

Resources

Related articles

How to Calculate Alimony in New Hampshire

The marriage relationship is supportive in nature. For that reason, courts in New Hampshire are sensitive to the needs of both spouses after divorce, and have the authority to order one spouse to pay financial support to the other for a specific period of time or indefinitely. This is known as alimony. Although there is no set formula for determining alimony in New Hampshire, there are certain factors a court considers when awarding or modifying it.

Do You Have to Wait 30 Days for a Decree of Divorce in Arkansas?

Even if divorcing spouses agree on all marital issues, such as custody and property division, Arkansas imposes a 30-day waiting period on all divorces. This means the court will not issue a divorce decree until at least 30 days have passed since the date the divorce petition was filed.

What Are Parental Rights in a Divorce?

Parental rights can change drastically during divorce proceedings. Before the court issues a custody order, you and your spouse maintain equal rights to care for your child on a daily basis and make major decisions regarding your child's health and welfare. Once a judge issues a temporary or permanent child custody order in a divorce, the court order establishes each parent's parental rights and responsibilities. These rights traditionally include legal custody and physical custody of a child.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Idaho Divorce & Spousal Support

Spousal support serves an important role in helping a divorcing spouse with insufficient income make the transition to ...

Marital Status: Difference Between Separated & Divorced

Most states recognize three ways to legally alter a marital relationship -- separation, divorce and annulment. Among ...

Iowa Divorce Rules & Regulations

Divorce laws are different from state to state. Iowa's procedures for divorce, also called dissolution of marriage, are ...

The Advantages of Annulment

Divorce is the most common way to end the marriage relationship. However, states also recognize an alternative ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED