How Long Do You Have to File an Appeal for Divorce in Arizona?

By Beverly Bird

If you can't reach an agreement with your spouse as to how to end your marriage, you run the risk of having a judge decide things for you at trial. Your life – and all the things that matter most to you – end up in a judge's hands, subject to his discretion and decisions. He may or may not agree with your arguments, and he's only human. He can make mistakes. In the latter case, Arizona law gives you options for setting things right, but you won’t have much time to act.

Options

If you believe an error occurred during your divorce trial, your course of action depends on what exactly went wrong. You can appeal the family court's decision to a higher authority – the Arizona Court of Appeals – or you can ask the family court for a new trial. The first option asks the higher court to review the initial judge's decisions. The second option asks the court to vacate or throw out your divorce judgment and schedule a new trial.

Grounds

You can't file an appeal or ask for a new trial just because a judge doesn't rule in your favor or because you don't like his decision. You need grounds – specific, legally acceptable reasons for the court to act. Arizona recognizes more grounds for appeals than for motions for a new trial, but they're still limited. You must establish that the judge made a legal error, such as he considered evidence he shouldn't have or refused to hear testimony that might have affected his decision. You can't ask the Court of Appeals to reconsider the evidence you already presented at trial. An appeal is limited to deciding whether the judge abided by court rules.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Deadlines and Procedures

You have 30 days to appeal your divorce judgment in Arizona. The calendar begins running on the day the court files your judgment and it becomes a matter of record, not the day the judge signs it. A "Notice of Appeal" initiates the action, after which you or your attorney must file a "Record of Appeal" and an appellate brief, explaining how and why you think the judge erred. Typically, the appellate court will review your paperwork – and your spouse's paperwork as well, because she has a right to respond to your allegations – then issue a written decision. You generally won't have to appear in court to argue your case in person. If the Court of Appeals decides that the judge made a mistake, it will remand your case back to the family court judge so he can reconsider the decision he made in error. It won't reverse the trial court's decision; it basically just gives the judge a second chance.

Timing Your Response

You can't file an appeal and a motion for a new trial simultaneously. A motion for a new trial has the effect of keeping your divorce case active with the family court. By law, the Court of Appeals can only make decisions after the family court has officially closed your case. You have 15 days after your judgment is entered with the court to file a motion for a new trial, and if you do, this has the effect of postponing the appeal deadline. In this case, the 30 days begin running when the court decides your motion and the resulting order is filed with the court. If you're denied a new trial, you can then file an appeal.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to File a Motion for a New Pendente Lite Hearing for a Divorce

References

Related articles

How to Appeal a Child Custody Decision in Dallas, Texas

Child custody cases can be highly contentious and emotional, and an unfavorable ruling can be devastating. Texas law allows parents to appeal custody rulings, but the appeals process can be lengthy and difficult. If you are not already represented by an attorney, you will have a much greater chance of success if you hire a family law attorney who specializes in custody appeals. Appeals in Dallas are heard through the Texas Fifth Court of Appeals.

How Long Can a Divorce Be Postponed in Indiana?

For all practical purposes, Indiana is a no-fault state. Its statutes don't include the typical fault grounds of adultery, abandonment or cruelty. If you file for divorce in this state, your only options are to use the no-fault grounds and tell the court your marriage is irretrievably broken, or your spouse is impotent, insane or convicted of a felony. If you file on grounds of irretrievable breakdown, your spouse can't stop the divorce without your consent. Under some circumstances, however, you or your spouse may be able to postpone the proceedings for a little while.

How Do I File a Response to Divorce Papers?

The emotion of a divorce is often further complicated by the legal labyrinth you find yourself trying to navigate after you're served with papers. This is especially true if you decide to proceed on your own, without an attorney. Law is famous for its complicated terms, rules and requirements. When your spouse serves you with divorce papers, you usually have a minimum of three different options to respond, depending on the laws of your particular state.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How to Undo Custody Arrangements in New Jersey

The divorce process can be a bumpy road. You may think you have certain issues resolved, such as custody, but then ...

Can I Reopen a Dismissed Divorce in California or Do I Need to Start All Over?

If your divorce is dismissed in California, that means you must refile, unless the dismissal was caused by your or your ...

How to Restart the Divorce Process in Michigan With Kids

You can either pause or stop your divorce action in Michigan if you change your mind about moving forward. If you ...

How to Appeal a Divorce and Parenting Plan in Washington

Whether you live in Washington or any other state, you can usually save yourself a lot of time, money and stress if you ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED