How Long for an Uncontested Divorce in Louisiana If a Spouse Committed Adultery?

By Mark Vansetti

In Louisiana, a divorce is uncontested when both spouses agree on the terms of the divorce, such as custody, spousal support and property division. For a no-fault divorce, Louisiana law requires that the spouses go through a waiting period. However, when one spouse proves adultery, which is a fault ground, the divorcing spouses do not have to go through a waiting period before the divorce is final.

No-Fault vs. Fault Divorce

In a no-fault divorce, the spouses wish to divorce but neither spouse wishes to prove that the breakdown of the marriage was the other spouse's fault. For a no-fault divorce in Louisiana, the divorcing spouses must wait at least six months before the divorce becomes final. In a fault divorce, Louisiana offers only two grounds -- adultery or a felony conviction with a death sentence or hard labor.

No Waiting Period

If the divorce is based on either of the two fault grounds, the spouses do not have to go through a waiting period. A divorce based on adultery requires that the spouse alleging adultery file a petition for divorce with the district court for the parish where one of the two spouses is currently living or where the spouses last lived together. The petitioner must serve the other spouse with divorce papers. Once the court enters a judgment of divorce, the divorce is not final for 30 days. This waiting period is to allow for an appeal. Neither spouse can remarry until the 30-day waiting period is over and the divorce judgment becomes final.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Proving Adultery

The spouse alleging adultery must prove to the court that adultery occurred before a judgment can be entered. To prove adultery, the alleging spouse must provide his own testimony, as well as the testimony of at least one other witness. The burden of proof that adultery occurred is on the alleging spouse. Louisiana courts have defined that the alleging spouse must show, at the very least, the time and place the adultery took place and, if known, the other party's name.

Contesting the Allegation of Adultery

The court will take into consideration whether the spouse accused of adultery contests the accusation. If the accused contests the allegation of adultery, that spouse must provide an explanation for the accusing spouse's testimony. If the spouses simply agree that adultery occurred, the court will still require some other independent evidence that it occurred. This could be the testimony of an independent witness. If the spouses agree that adultery occurred without independent evidence, the court considers the divorce collusive, and it will not enter a judgment of divorce.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How Long Do You Have to Be Separated to Get a Divorce in Virginia?

References

Related articles

Can One Mate Refuse a Divorce in North Carolina?

In North Carolina, a spouse who doesn’t want a divorce can make the process take longer and cost more, but he cannot prevent it from happening if the other spouse is determined to divorce. You cannot actually refuse to get a divorce since North Carolina does not require that both spouses agree on divorce in order for the court to grant it.

New York State No Fault Divorce Laws

Every state recognizes no-fault divorce, but that wasn't always the case. Until recently, if you wanted a divorce in New York, you had to prove that your spouse was the cause of the marriage falling apart. In other words, one spouse had to take the blame, even if both spouses wanted the divorce. Typically, this led to a drawn-out divorce process mired in conflict. However, in 2010, New York eliminated this restriction by permitting no-fault divorce, becoming the last state in the union to do so.

Can a Lover Be Forced to Testify at a Divorce if the Affair Is Known?

As a general rule, if someone has an affair with a married individual, she should brace herself for an appearance in divorce court. Ultimately, however, it comes down to the rules in your particular state. If you live in one of the jurisdictions that does not recognize fault grounds, the issue of adultery is often moot. Otherwise, if your spouse files on grounds of adultery, she must prove her allegations through testimony and other evidence.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Types of Divorce in South Dakota

When spouses decide to end their marriage, one or both of them must file for divorce. To be eligible to file for ...

Is the Absence of Sexual Relations Grounds for Divorce?

Sexual behavior outside the marriage and the lack of sexual relations within the marriage can serve as grounds for ...

What Is a Unilateral Divorce?

Unilateral divorce describes a divorce in which one spouse terminates the marriage without the consent of the other ...

The Code of West Virginia Regarding the Grounds for Divorce

West Virginia offers both fault and no-fault grounds for divorce. If the parties agree on the divorce, or one spouse ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED