What Is the Minimum Child Support in Texas?

By Beverly Bird

Child support depends on a number of factors – your income, how many children you have, and your state's method of calculation. If you have children, you likely can't get a divorce without a corresponding child support obligation, and all these factors are integral to how much you'll pay.

Child Support Guidelines

Texas uses the percentage of obligor's income formula for calculating child support. Obligations are based on the non-custodial parent's income; they don’t factor in what the custodial parent earns. Child support is a set percentage of your net income, based on the number of children you must support. Therefore, the minimum amount would apply if you have only one child, and the percentage of your income increases with each additional child.

Your Net Income

In Texas, child support is based on what you take home each pay period, not what you earn before the government and other responsibilities take a bite. You can deduct Social Security taxes, federal and state income taxes, health insurance premiums you pay for your child, and union dues. Your minimum support obligation depends on how many of these allowable deductions you qualify for that lower your net pay.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Other Dependents

If you were married before and you owe child support for children from that marriage, this lowers your child support percentage. If you're supporting one child from that marriage, and if you have one child from this marriage, the percentage of your income will drop.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Does the Number of Children Affect Child Support?

References

Related articles

The Child Support Obligation for a Non-Custodial Parent According to the Law in Illinois

Illinois is one of only 10 jurisdictions that still calculates child support the good, old-fashioned way, based only on the non-custodial parent's income. Along with eight other states and the District of Columbia, Illinois courts use the percentage of obligor's income formula for determining a non-custodial parent's obligation. This formula doesn't incorporate your spouse's earnings, but if you're divorcing and you think you'll be the non-custodial parent, it makes it relatively easy to understand what your obligation will be going forward.

Child Support Rules in Texas

Texas courts calculate the amount of child support you owe by adding your annual income from all sources, subtracting certain amounts from that total and then applying percentages to your monthly net resources up to $8,550. The percentages vary depending on how many children there are of this marriage and how many other children you are court-ordered to support. A court can also award additional child support based on earnings over the cap of $8,550 depending on the needs of the child.

How to Compute Child Support Payments in Michigan

Calculating child support under Michigan law can be confusing and complicated. The state uses the income shares model, meaning that child support should provide the children with the same lifestyle they had before the parents divorced. However, in Michigan, only the custodial parent receives child support. To calculate support, the state will consider the income of both parents and other factors concerning additional children, child care and medical needs. The state uses a number of formulas and calculations to take into account all the relevant factors. You may seek assistance from the state to verify your calculations.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

What Percentage Is Child Support Based On in Arkansas?

Of the many uncertainties involved with divorce, child support can be front and center. It will have a significant ...

Child Support Laws & Estimated Amounts in Arkansas

When it comes to child support, there's an easy way to calculate it and a difficult way. Three methods exist and most ...

Texas Family Code Child Support Guidelines

Heading into a divorce, one of the hardest things to deal with is the uncertainty. You may have heard horror stories ...

What Percent of Income Does CT Take Out in Child Support for the Noncustodial Parent?

Parents have the duty to support their children financially, both before and after divorce, so Connecticut law aims to ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED