Montana Divorce Laws: Response

By Wayne Thomas

A divorce is legal in nature. In Montana, the procedure operates like a traditional lawsuit, starting with the filing and service of a petition for divorce. You are required to respond to the petition, and the law specifies both the time you have to respond and the format that the response needs to take. Further, the court requires different forms depending on whether you have children and whether you and your spouse can reach agreement. Understanding how to properly and timely respond to a petition in Montana will help you avoid costly delays and ensure your continued participation throughout the divorce process.

Response Format

In Montana, the format for response paperwork to a divorce action differs depending on whether the parties have minor children. The caption at the top of the response will indicate if minor children are involved, and it is important that you use the correct form. Additional documents, such as a proposed parenting plan, are required of parents, and a judge needs to be put on notice as to the issues to be decided in the divorce. By law, you have 20 days to respond to a divorce petition. The clock starts to run on the date the papers are personally served on you, or the date you acknowledge receipt by filling out and mailing back the acknowledgment form, included with the petition.

Response Content

Montana requires that you respond to all of the claims made by your spouse in the petition. First you must include basic information about yourself and the marriage. The form then guides you step-by-step through each claim, asking whether you agree or disagree. If you disagree, you must provide a reason. Additional documents that Montana requires are a Sensitive Data form, and a Declaration of Disclosure of Assets, Debts, Income, and Expenses form. You should file these documents in the same court that your spouse filed the petition. You must also serve them on the other party. While service can be done personally, Montana allows the response to be effectively served by mail.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Joint Petition

If you are in total agreement with your spouse and have resolved all of the issues related to the divorce, Montana allows the filing of a joint petition. This means that the single petition represents the position of both spouses. No service or response is required with a joint petition. While the document does not necessarily have to be completed together with your spouse, both must review it carefully and provide their signatures.

Default Divorce

Once you have been served with the petition, you may choose not to respond. After 20 days have passed, the other spouse can move forward without your participation. This is known as a default divorce. Because a judge will only be presented with information from one spouse, that party may receive everything he requested in the petition. Not responding can be very dangerous, as a judge will not only issue a divorce decree but also decide matters of custody, support and property division without your input.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to Answer Divorce Complaints in Georgia
 

References

Related articles

Divorce by Default

A divorce by default is one of the simplest ways to divorce. It generally occurs when one spouse doesn’t answer a divorce complaint within the required time frame. Sometimes, when spouses are in agreement as to the grounds and terms of the divorce, they might decide to obtain a divorce by default as a way to avoid the additional paperwork involved in completing an uncontested divorce process. Each state has its own set of rules regarding fees, service and documents concerning the divorce process. You can use an online legal document service to prepare and file all your divorce paperwork.

Divorce Papers for Washington State

Even in cases where a couple agrees to get divorced, the process can seem like it takes forever. This is due in part to the amount of paperwork that must first be filled out, filed and then served on the other spouse. In Washington state, the required documents can differ depending on whether the couple has minor children and whether the parties can reach an agreement or need a trial. Knowing which documents are necessary and when they should be filed will help avoid time-consuming delays in the Washington divorce process.

How to File for Divorce in New Mexico When a Spouse Won't Sign

No matter his reason, your spouse cannot legally force you to stay married in New Mexico. Some spouses will not sign an acceptance of service, thinking such inaction will stop the divorce proceedings. The path your divorce will take when your spouse will not sign an acceptance of service and agree to the terms outlined in the petition can either proceed as a contested divorce or result in a default divorce.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Documents Needed for the Respondents in a Divorce Summons

Receiving notice that your spouse filed for divorce can be a stressful experience. Most states require that the filing ...

Can You Just Not Do Anything in a Divorce if You Are the Respondent?

Your spouse is required to serve you with divorce papers after she files for divorce, including her divorce petition, ...

How to File a Response to Divorce Papers in California

Either spouse has the option of terminating a marriage in California regardless of the desires of the other spouse. So ...

How Long Do You Have to Wait to Get a Divorce in DC?

If you want your divorce case to move quickly, you and your spouse should try to come to an agreement regarding all ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED