Montana Law Governing Last Wills & Testaments

By Andrine Redsteer

Montana's Uniform Probate Code governs wills throughout the state. Like other states, Montana mandates specific formalities that must be adhered to during the making of a will. Formalities are important procedures that give wills legal effect; without them, a will maker — called a "testator" — could make a will that is contrary to his actual intent.

Testamentary Capacity

According to Montana law, testators must have testamentary capacity; that is, they must be of sound mind. Testamentary capacity means the acuity to comprehend the amount and nature of the property involved and the significance of executing a will. A testator must also have the ability to recognize his relationship to the individuals receiving bequests of his property. Because minors may not adequately grasp these concepts, Montana requires all testators to be at least 18 years old.

Writing and Witnesses

In Montana, a will must be in writing. This means a testator can either type or hand-write her will. Handwritten wills are called "holographic" wills and Montana recognizes them, regardless of whether they're witnessed. However, for a holographic will to be valid, it's material portions must be in the testator's own handwriting and signed by the testator. Montana requires two competent witnesses to a will. These witnesses must sign the will within a reasonable time after watching the testator acknowledge or sign the will.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Self-Proving Wills

In Montana, a testator can make his will self-proving. For a will to be self-proving, a notarized affidavit must be executed simultaneously with the will and contain the signatures of both witnesses and the testator. Generally, if a will is not self-proving, one of the witnesses must testify in probate court to verify its authenticity. Thus, making a self-proving will streamlines the process and prevents having to track down witnesses who may have moved to another state.

Revocation

Montana law allows testators to revoke their wills in a number of ways. A testator may revoke his will by physically destroying it; that is, he may tear it up, burn it or cancel it, provided his intent is to revoke it. A testator may also revoke a will by executing a subsequent will that expressly revokes his prior will. Furthermore, a subsequent will that doesn't expressly revoke a prior will, but has provisions that are substantially inconsistent with a prior will, may have the effect of revoking it.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
The Requirements for Last Wills Accepted in All 50 States

References

Related articles

How to Contest a Will in Colorado

To contest a will in Colorado, as in other states, you must be an "interested party," which means you must stand to gain from the will in some way. You must also have valid grounds upon which to contest the will. In Colorado, valid grounds to contest a will include lack of testamentary capacity, undue influence or failure to adhere to the state's prescribed formalities such as lack of witnesses, among other oversights.

Missouri Law on Last Wills

Writing a will means that you decide who acquires your property when you die. If you don’t make a will, you are said to be “intestate” and the state decides who is entitled to your estate. In Missouri, a person of sound mind who is at least 18 years of age, or an emancipated minor, may make a valid will. This person is commonly referred to as the “testator.”

What Constitutes a Legal Will?

A will is a testator's final directive about her property. A valid will effectively disposes of all of the testator's assets after her death according to her own choices. In order for a will to be valid, the testator must be competent, must intend to make a will and must execute the document according to state law. Absent a valid will, property passes to blood relatives under state intestate distribution laws.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help.

Related articles

California Laws Regarding Wills

California law requires that a testator, or the person making a will, be at least 18 years of age and of sound mind. ...

A Self-Made Last Will & Testament in Oregon

If you're an Oregon resident, you can execute a valid self-made last will and testament, provided you adhere to the ...

Can a Power of Attorney Sign a Will?

A power of attorney grants one person the legal authority to act on behalf of another for certain purposes, which are ...

Verifying Authenticity of a Last Will & Testament

The maker of a will, commonly known as the "testator," must draft the will in accordance with the state's probate code ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED