How Much Does it Cost to File Divorce Papers?

By Tom Streissguth

Fees and other costs are inevitably part of divorce. The fees vary by each state and county court; in addition, legal fees charged by attorneys for assistance with the filing vary widely. If the divorce is contested, or if you have to negotiate terms, the time and money it takes to complete the process will increase.

Filing Fee

Divorce is a civil matter that requires the adjudication of a local court. To begin a divorce case, you must file a petition for dissolution of marriage with the clerk of court of the county in which you reside. Each court imposes a filing fee, which varies according to your location but averages about $300 nationwide. The charge may be less if you file the petition electronically via a court website. The court may charge additional fees if you require certified copies of the petition, and for any additional motions, requests, proposed orders and petitions that you may file in the course of the divorce proceedings.

Representation

If you have an attorney draw up your divorce petition, you must allow for attorneys' fees and costs in addition to the filing fee. Divorce lawyers may charge a flat fee for a simple, uncontested divorce; or they may charge an hourly rate for their services in a more complicated case that requires additional time, court filings, and an appearance at a hearing. Hourly fees depend on the lawyer's experience, the local average for attorney fees, and the expenses for the work of paralegals and other staff.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Additional Filings

When you file a divorce petition, you will also need to serve the case on your spouse. Service means the delivery of the petition, either in person or by mail, to your spouse. Normally, you or your attorney submits the petition and a summons to the sheriff's department for service by law enforcement personnel; alternatively, you may arrange to have a private process server carry out this step. Your spouse may also be willing to acknowledge the petition in writing and waive service. Service of process fees generally run $50 or less; if you cannot find your spouse for service, you must pay a fee for publication of the divorce as a legal notice in a newspaper.

Fee Waivers

You may be able to avoid filing fees by submitting a fee waiver petition along with your petition for divorce. A fee waiver petition is a request to file paperwork without the required fees imposed by the court. You will have to sign an affidavit that you are without means to pay the fees, fill out a statement of your assets and income, submit evidence -- such as bank statements, utility bills and pay records -- to the court and, in some jurisdictions, appear at a court hearing.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to File for Divorce in Connecticut Without Any Money

References

Related articles

How to File for Divorce for Free in Florida

The state of Florida requires that divorces begin with a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. This sets the legal process of divorce in motion; eventually, the courts will hear the case and a judge will sign a final decree, at which point the divorce is complete and legal. Although the process can be expensive, state law provides for filing free of charge for those who qualify.

Steps to Filing for Divorce in Pierce County, Washington

The state of Washington permits you to obtain a divorce if you or your spouse is a resident of the state. State law governs divorce cases, although each county court has its own rules regarding legal filings and fee schedule. In Pierce County, as in other Washington counties, the process begins with the filing of a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage.

My Spouse Wants a Divorce But I Don't: Do I Still Have to Pay for the Paperwork Fees?

Each state creates its own divorce laws and procedures. Thus, the exact rules and process for dissolving a marriage will be different in each jurisdiction. Generally, however, it is the petitioner, or party filing for divorce, who is responsible for paying court filing fees. Thus, if you receive divorce papers and respond to them, you may not be responsible for any court fees. In certain circumstances, however, you may incur some fees even though you do not agree to the divorce.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Filing Divorce Papers in North Carolina Without Paying Court Costs

Filing for divorce can be expensive, forcing you to stay in an unhappy marriage if money is tight. However, if you ...

What Is the Cost to File Divorce Papers in Louisiana?

If you are seeking a divorce in Louisiana, you must file a petition in the parish court and pay a filing fee. The ...

How to File for Divorce With No Money

If you would like a divorce but have very limited financial means, you may be able to file the necessary papers without ...

Is There a Way to Get a Free Divorce in West Virginia?

Utilizing the services of the West Virginia courts can cost money. Even if you choose to represent yourself in a ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED