How Much Pay Can Be Garnished for Child Support in Florida?

By Lisa S. Kramer

Florida law gives children the right to receive financial support from both their parents until they reach 18. Florida uses income withholding and wage garnishment of a non-custodial parent's earnings to ensure the parent pays child support. Income withholding is used for payment of current child support obligations. If a parent has past due child support obligations, a special type of income withholding, called wage garnishment, is used. The amount a parent pays through income withholding is the amount a court ordered him to pay every month for child support. On the other hand, the amount a parent pays with wage garnishment is a percentage of his earnings.

Income Withholding for Current Child Support Payments

If a non-custodial parent with a child support obligation is working, Florida law requires his employer to withhold income from his wages for payment of his support obligation. In order for an employee's income to be withheld in such a manner, a Florida judge must issue an Order for Income Withholding and send a copy of it to the parent's employer. Often, a Florida judge enters an Order for Income Withholding at the same time he enters the Child Support Order.

Wage Garnishment for Past-Due Child Support Payments

A parent who wishes to recoup past due child support payments may apply for help from the Child Support Enforcement Program by filling out the online application on the Florida Department of Revenue website. Once a parent has applied and provided CSEP with the other parent's employment information, CSEP will enter an Income Deduction Order to garnish the parent's wages for the payment of past due child support.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Amount of Wage Garnishment

Florida follows the Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act, which restricts the amount of an employee's earnings that may be garnished for child support. Under the CCPA, "earnings" are an employee's wages, salary, commission, bonus or periodic payments from a pension or retirement program, but usually not tips. "Disposable earnings" are an employee's remaining earnings after legally required deductions, such as federal and state taxes and Social Security. Under the CCPA, if the employee is supporting a current spouse or a dependent child (other than the child or spouse covered by the support order), up to 50 percent of the employee's disposable earnings may be garnished for child support. If the employee is not supporting a current spouse or a dependent child, other than the child or spouse covered by the support order being enforced, up to 60 percent of the employee's disposable earnings may be garnished for child support. An additional five percent may be garnished for support payments that are more than 12 weeks past due.

Exempt Income or Circumstances

Florida law sets forth an exemption for wage garnishment under the CCPA. Under the Florida Statutes, a "head of family" is a person who is providing more than 50 percent of the support for a child or other dependent person. In Florida, if a head of family's weekly disposable earnings are $750 or less, such disposable earnings are exempt from wage garnishment, unless the head of family agrees to it in writing.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Is There a Statute on Collecting Child Support in Michigan?

References

Resources

Related articles

How Often Can You Check an Ex-Spouse's Income for Child Support in North Carolina?

Child support is awarded to a custodial parent to assist with the expense of raising a child. The non-custodial parent is legally obligated to pay once a court has ordered it. Although the court makes a determination on the amount of child support at the time child support is awarded, the order can be modified at a later date due to a change in circumstances, such as when an ex-spouse’s income increases.

Questions About Child Support in South Carolina

When parents divorce, determining child support can feel like solving a math problem. South Carolina, like other states, uses a specific formula for calculating the amount that the parent with physical custody of the child, known as the custodial parent, should receive. The other parent, referred to as the non-custodial parent, may then request certain adjustments to the base figure. Further, either parent may pursue a modification of an existing order if the circumstances change after a child support order is issued.

What Is Considered Income in Florida Child Support?

Income for child support purposes in Florida covers a wide range of sources. It would be fair to say that if you receive income from nearly any source, it will be considered income when the court sets the amount of child support you'll owe. If you are unemployed or underemployed, the court can even impute to you amounts of money you would have made if you were working. There are, however, certain deductions from income that must also be considered when calculating child support.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Child Support Garnishment Rules & Regulations in Michigan

In Michigan, the friend of the court may enforce a court's order for child support by withholding, or garnishing, a ...

Florida Child Support Regulations

Each state has different rules when it comes to child support, but Florida allocates the support amount between ...

Can My Ex Quit His Job So He Doesn't Have to Pay Child Support?

Each state and the federal government have enacted laws to aid in the enforcement of a parent's court-ordered ...

New Mexico Child Support Regulations

In New Mexico, the amount of child support is determined based on the principle that a child should receive the same ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED