How Much Time Does it Take to Get a Divorce After Signing the Papers?

By Teo Spengler

Estimating the days before a court approves your marital settlement agreement requires a crystal ball, not a calculator. The fact that you and your spouse have worked out issues amicably is helpful in moving the case along, but the paperwork can get backed up indefinitely if you made procedural errors or the judge finds fault with the agreement.

Marital Settlement Agreement

Litigating divorce issues always takes more time and costs more money than resolving them amicably, so an executed marital settlement agreement puts you ahead of the game. Once you have filed the agreement and all requisite state and local forms, all you can do is wait.

Court Review

Your best bet for speedy action by the court is to check and double-check your paperwork before turning it in. The number of forms you require depends both on your jurisdiction and your personal situation. Couples with minor children will have more paperwork to fill out. Some states require final disclosure documents, and the procedure can vary depending on whether your spouse has filed a response. An error on your forms may result in their return with instructions to refile or even require you to appear in court -- either can delay your divorce.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to Get a Wife to Sign Final Divorce Papers
 

References

Related articles

Divorce Papers for Washington State

Even in cases where a couple agrees to get divorced, the process can seem like it takes forever. This is due in part to the amount of paperwork that must first be filled out, filed and then served on the other spouse. In Washington state, the required documents can differ depending on whether the couple has minor children and whether the parties can reach an agreement or need a trial. Knowing which documents are necessary and when they should be filed will help avoid time-consuming delays in the Washington divorce process.

Do You Have to Wait 30 Days for a Decree of Divorce in Arkansas?

Even if divorcing spouses agree on all marital issues, such as custody and property division, Arkansas imposes a 30-day waiting period on all divorces. This means the court will not issue a divorce decree until at least 30 days have passed since the date the divorce petition was filed.

How to Get a Quick Divorce in New York

New York does not have a reputation for speedy divorces. If your spouse contests your divorce, the process can easily drag on for more than a year. However, if he does not contest it, you might be divorced in a matter of months, especially if you work together to finalize your marriage. New York’s divorce laws are somewhat complex, but if you understand their nuances, you can hasten the process.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How Long Does a Divorce in West Virginia Take?

The role of a judge in a West Virginia divorce is to resolve all contested issues between a married couple. Although ...

The Time Limit on Final Divorce Documents in California

California law includes a waiting period for divorce. You might be very sure that you want to end your marriage, but ...

How Long It Takes for an Uncontested Divorce to Be Final in New York

Disagreement between spouses usually is a major catalyst for divorce. Once the decision to end a marriage is made, if a ...

Procedures for an Amicable Divorce in Maryland

Maryland offers an amicable divorce process for couples who can agree on all the terms of their divorce. This is known ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED