How to Get a Name Change After a Divorce in Ontario

By Anna Assad

You can resume your former surname after divorce on Ontario as long as you used the Election to Change Surname form to change your name when you got married. Ontario allows a divorced person to file an election form with supporting documents to return to a premarriage surname as long as the form is submitted within 90 days of the finalized divorce. If you fail to elect a former surname before the 90 days are up, you must use the formal, longer application process to change your name instead.

Step 1

Get certified copies of your divorce decree, birth certificate, marriage certificate and your copy of the Election to Change Surname form from when you married.

Step 2

Contact the Office of the Registrar General at 800-461-2156 if you live outside Toronto. Call 416-325-8305 if you're in Toronto. Tell the representative you want to change your name because of a divorce. You'll be asked "Yes" or "No" questions about your martial status, your place of birth and what your birth certificate currently says. Answer all questions. The office will send you an Election to Resume Former Surname form.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Step 3

Complete the Election to Resume Former Surname form. You'll need information about your marriage and divorce, your address, birth date and place of birth. Attach the certified copies to the form.

Step 4

Prepare the filing fee. Make the payment out to the Office of the Registrar General.

Step 5

Mail the form, the payment and the attached documents to: Office of the Registrar General c/o Ontario Government Building PO Box 4600 189 Red River Rd Thunder Bay, ON P7B 6L8.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to Change Your Name on Your SS Card in Georgia After a Marriage
 

References

Related articles

Does a Marriage Certificate Qualify as a Name Change for Passport Requirements?

If you formally change your name when you marry, you must notify all government agencies that have issued you documents, licenses and identification cards in your former name. These documents might include an updated Social Security card, driver's license and a passport, if you have one. Proof of marriage is required to change your name on a U.S. passport.

How to Get a DBA in Virginia

A DBA, short for "doing business as," is known as a fictitious name in Virginia. Using a fictitious name allows you to operate your business using something other than your given name. For example, if you'd rather call your grocery store "Family Friendly Foods" than use your name, you must register "Family Friendly Foods" as a fictitious name. Virginia law makes it a misdemeanor punishable by fines and up to a year in jail if you use a fictitious name without registering.

Texas DPS and a Name Change After 30 Days

If you have a Texas driver's license or identification card, the law requires you to notify the Department of Public Safety within 30 days if you move or change your name. You may apply for a duplicate license in person or by mail if you live out of state or overseas. If you do not apply for a name change within 30 days, you may incur late fees or receive a ticket.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Can I Convert My LLC to an S-Corp When Filing My Tax Return?

The IRS applies default rules to determine how an LLC will be taxed. In general, a single-member LLC is taxed as a sole ...

Returning to Your Maiden Name After a Divorce in Pennsylvania

If you're divorcing in Pennsylvania, you may go back to your maiden name without going through a formal court process ...

How do I File Taxes for an LLC?

A limited liability company, or LLC, is formed under state law but is not recognized as a business classification by ...

The Steps to Get Legally Married in Miami, Florida

Chapter 741 of the Florida Statutes governs marriages within the state. You don’t have to be a resident to marry in ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED