Under Statute 112.225, you must be at least 18 years old to make a will in Oregon. The exception is if you are or have been married. If you are married, divorced or widowed before you turn 18 years of age, you have the right to bequeath your own assets in the event of your death.
In Oregon, legal capacity assumes that you have never been declared mentally incompetent by any court prior to making your will. Beyond that, if someone were to contest your will, she would have to prove that either you did not understand the meaning of what you were signing, or were somehow coerced into the provisions contained in it.
An Oregon will must have two witnesses. Oregon Revised Statutes 112.245 does not prohibit a beneficiary from being a witness. Your witnesses must sign your will in your presence.
If you cannot make your signature on your will, Oregon will allow someone else to do it for you. Either one of your witnesses or another party of your choice can sign your name, provided she also signs her own name and writes on the will that she has done this at your request.
Oregon wills must be typewritten or printed. Holographic wills -- wills written in your handwriting and without witness signatures -- are not accepted, nor are oral wills.
Limitations and Protections
Oregon grants a surviving spouse an elective share of your estate, meaning that she can choose to take up to 50 percent of your assets, subject to certain terms and conditions, instead of whatever you bequeathed her if what you bequeathed her is less. This excludes property you co-own with anyone else, and life insurance policies or retirement benefits that have another named beneficiary.
Codicils to your will -- additional statements or provisions made to add or revoke parts of the will -- are subject to all the same requirements that wills are.