Penalties for Child Support Arrears in California

By Elizabeth Rayne

Falling behind in child support payments under a divorce order can lead to the initiation of enforcement proceedings against a noncustodial parent in the state of California. While this process often involves the Department of Child Services, certain private agencies, attorneys or the other parent can also begin the action. In some cases, penalties for nonpayment can include wage garnishment and suspension of drivers' or professional licenses, as well as tax liens and even jail time. However, if certain circumstance have been met, the noncustodial parent may be entitled to a reduction of the child support amounts by asking the court via a petition for a modification.

Falling behind in child support payments under a divorce order can lead to the initiation of enforcement proceedings against a noncustodial parent in the state of California. While this process often involves the Department of Child Services, certain private agencies, attorneys or the other parent can also begin the action. In some cases, penalties for nonpayment can include wage garnishment and suspension of drivers' or professional licenses, as well as tax liens and even jail time. However, if certain circumstance have been met, the noncustodial parent may be entitled to a reduction of the child support amounts by asking the court via a petition for a modification.

Child Support Enforcement

In California, the local branches of the California Department of Child Support Services assist parents with enforcing child support orders. Parents may also file a motion with the court that issued the court support order, or hire a private attorney or agency to enforce the order. When the state is involved, via a local child support agency, the agency is responsible for getting the payments and sending them to the other parent, free of charge.

Get a free, confidential bankruptcy evaluation. Learn More

Independent Enfrocement Motion

When the noncustodial parent has child support that is more than 30 days late, the custodial parent must serve the other parent with a notice of delinquency, which provides the amount the parent owes in child support, and a notice that the unpaid support is subject to a penalty of 6 percent per month. The parent must wait 30 days after the notice of delinquency is served before filing a motion with the court to enforce the child support order and obtain a judgment for the amount owed. The motion must be served on the other parent with a hearing date.

Enforcement Measures

The court may order a number of enforcement measures to encourage the parent to fulfill child support obligations. The state may revoke the parent's driver's or professional licenses, or intercept payments from wages, social security, unemployment, tax refunds, or even lottery winnings. Additionally, the court may place liens on property owned by the noncompliant parent, and in some situations, deny passport applications based on child support owed. Missed payments are reported to credit agencies, and may affect the credit rating of the noncompliant parent.

Contempt

In some cases, the custodial parent may request a contempt order. A court will find contempt when the other parent has the ability to pay child support, but willingly refuses to do so. Contempt is a serious charge, and generally only be ordered when other enforcement actions are not successful. In addition to penalties and interest on the amount due, the nonpaying parent may face jail time if found in contempt.

Modification

In some cases, a parent may request a modification to the child support order. The court will only grant the order if the parent shows there has been a significant change in circumstances, such as a significant change in the income of either parent, or a change in the amount of time the child spends with each parent. A court may also review the child support order for military service or deployment. Instead of filing a motion with the court, the parents may agree to change the child support order, and file a stipulation with the court. Without a stipulation, the decision will be up to the court.

Get a free, confidential bankruptcy evaluation. Learn More
What Are Florida Child Support Laws on Property Liens?

References

Related articles

Can a Court Order Change Child Support in CT?

When Connecticut courts award child support as part of a divorce, they use the couple’s financial situation at the time of the divorce to determine the amount of support. However, this level of support may not be appropriate when a family’s circumstances change. Connecticut law makes child support modifiable -- up or down -- based on a significant change in circumstances.

How to Collect Unpaid Alimony in California

A divorce case in California may include an order for spousal support, also known as alimony. Although alimony is not required by law, a judge can order it under certain circumstances; state law provides for 13 different considerations when determining the amount and duration of spousal support. As with child support, a spousal support order is legally binding on the individual payor named in the order. If alimony goes unpaid, the other spouse may exercise several enforcement options before turning to the court for more serious action, such as a contempt order.

Alabama Collection & Distribution of Child Support

When two parents have children together but don't share a household, one parent often needs to provide financial support to the other parent. The state of Alabama assists many parents who pay or collect child support. Although some parents may choose to pay support voluntarily, a state court or child support agency cannot enforce an arrangement without a court order.

Related articles

California Laws on the Interception of a Tax Refund for Child Support Arrears

If you have a child support order under California law, you have the right to have the order enforced through tax ...

What Are the Sentencing Guidelines in Michigan for Nonpayment of Child Support?

In Michigan, when a court orders a noncustodial parent to pay child support, he must do so until the child turns 18 ...

According to Kentucky Law, What Happens if a Man Isn't Able to Pay Child Support?

A noncustodial parent in Kentucky is responsible for paying child support until his child graduates from high school ...

Arizona Laws for Not Following a Divorce Decree With a Child Involved

Following a divorce, it is important for parents to follow the divorce decree to avoid penalties that range from ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED