How to Get a Quick Divorce in California

By Beverly Bird

California offers a summary divorce option for ending your marriage quickly, but this doesn’t avoid the state’s six-month waiting period. Whether you qualify for a summary action or must use the state’s uncontested divorce procedure, the soonest you can finalize your marriage is six months from the date you file your petition.

Step 1

Determine if you qualify for California’s summary divorce. You must have lived in the state for at least six months. You cannot have any children, and you must have been married less than five years. You must also waive your right to receive alimony. A complete list of qualifications is available on the state’s court website.

Step 2

Download and complete Form FL-800 from the California Courts website, a "Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution of Marriage." Both you and your spouse must sign the petition.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Step 3

Take your joint petition and at least two copies of it to the court in the county where either you or your spouse has lived for three months. File your paperwork with the court clerk. Pay any necessary fees. The clerk will keep your original petition and return the copies to you, stamped as received.

Step 4

Download Form FL-820 from the state’s website. This is a “Request for Judgment, Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage and Notice of Entry for Judgment." Complete the form, checking box 3a. Write in the date that is six months from the filing date stamped on your petition.

Step 5

Prepare a settlement agreement telling the court how you are going to divide your property and debts. To qualify for a summary action, you cannot own any real estate. If you rent your home, your lease must be for less than one year. Your joint debts must be less than $6,000, and your joint assets must be valued at less than $38,000. This excludes automobiles and their associated loans. You can’t have more than $38,000 in separate property, such as assets you owned prior to your marriage. A form for a settlement agreement is available on the state’s court website, or you can draft your own. Both you and your spouse must sign it.

Step 6

Wait out the required six-month period until the court will finalize your divorce. During this time, take the completed Form FL-820 and settlement agreement to the court for filing. In most counties, when the six months has expired, a judge will sign your Form FL-820, and the court will return it to you by mail. You will be automatically divorced on that day, six months from the date you filed your joint petition.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How to File a Simple Divorce in Florida

References

Related articles

How to Apply for a Fast Divorce in Illinois

Illinois law allows for joint simplified divorce, which requires a minimum of time and paperwork. Although this is the fastest divorce procedure, there are some basic requirements: the grounds must be simply “irreconcilable differences”; the divorce must be uncontested; and you must meet the state’s residency requirements.

How to File for an Uncontested Divorce Without an Attorney in Texas

In an uncontested divorce, both spouses agree about all the terms of the divorce, such as division of property, child custody and support payments. Filing an uncontested divorce in Texas tends to be easier and faster than a contested divorce, which usually requires a trial in front of a judge. Because no trial is required, an uncontested divorce can be accomplished without an attorney. In Texas, the procedure for filing an uncontested divorce, especially where no minor children are involved, is straightforward.

The Retraction of a Divorce Filing

A divorce is not finalized until a judge signs off on the divorce decree and grants a final judgment in the case. Until that point, you and your spouse can opt to terminate the divorce and keep your marriage intact. The method you use to retract your divorce filing will vary depending on when and how you withdraw the petition. State laws differ with regard to the exact forms you must use and the requirements you must meet before you can retract a pending divorce.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Do It Yourself Divorce in Illinois

In Illinois, as in other states, both no-fault and fault divorce may be either contested or uncontested. While it is ...

What Is the Process for Getting a Divorce in GA?

Most states share similar divorce procedures. In all jurisdictions, a complaint for divorce is required to begin the ...

Uncontested Divorce Documents and Requirements in Illinois

Conflict is often at the center of a divorce. If a couple can come to an agreement regarding how to end their marriage, ...

How to Do Your Own Divorce in Ohio

Either spouse may legally file for divorce in the state of Ohio. If your divorce is uncontested or no-fault, you can ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED