Reasons Why a Divorce Can Be Postponed in Texas

By Marcy Brinkley

The minimum waiting period for an uncontested divorce in Texas is 60 days after filing the petition. However, most divorcing couples need more time to work out a settlement or prepare for trial. Delays or postponements may occur for a variety of reasons but generally even contested divorces are finalized within 12 to 18 months or less.

Reconciliation

Filing for divorce does not prevent the couple from trying to reconcile while the case is pending. If the efforts are successful, the person who filed may withdraw the petition. Otherwise, the couple may finalize the divorce under the usual procedure, either by agreement or at a final hearing. Section 6.505 of the Texas Family Code also allows the judge to postpone the divorce for 60 days while the spouses and children attend court-ordered counseling if there is a reasonable expectation that the parties could reconcile.

Military Service

If one of the spouses is on active duty military service, his rights under the Servicemembers' Civil Relief Act of 2003 may trigger delays in the proceedings. If, for example, he is stationed in another state or overseas, he may ask the judge to postpone the proceedings until he is available to appear in court at a contested hearing. If, on the other hand, the spouse who filed the case has not served the active duty member with notice of the proceedings and he has not filed an answer, the judge must delay the final hearing and appoint an attorney to represent the servicemember's interests. Delays are not mandatory, however, and the active duty spouse may waive his right to appear in court if he wishes.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Unavailability

Illness or a family emergency may prevent a party from appearing at the final hearing. If the case is uncontested and the parties have signed an agreed final decree of divorce, only one spouse needs to appear at the final hearing to prove up the case. If the case has been set for a contested hearing, however, both parties need to appear to present their evidence. If the scheduling conflict is known in advance, the parties may be able to reset the case by calling the courthouse or filing a written agreement with the appropriate clerk. If the issue arises on the day of the hearing, the available party should appear in court to explain the problem to the judge and request a continuance. Each county publishes local rules to address these and other types of procedural issues.

Procedural Issues and Requirements

Any failure to follow the procedures for filing, serving the other party, setting hearings, drafting the final decree of divorce or participating in court-ordered parenting classes, if applicable to the case, could delay the finalizing of the divorce. To ensure that all applicable procedures are properly followed, parties should check the Texas Family Code as well as their county's local family court rules and standing orders, if any. In some Texas counties, for example, parties representing themselves must submit the final decree of divorce to the judge for approval before setting the final hearing.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
What If the Respondent Refuses to Sign the Divorce Papers in Dallas County, Texas?

References

Related articles

Can You Put a Divorce on Hold in California?

A divorce case is similar to any other civil proceeding in the state of California, and spouses can put the proceedings on hold if need be. Halting a civil proceeding is accomplished by making a motion to the court for a continuance, which the court has wide discretion to grant or deny. Spouses in a divorce proceeding may seek a continuance to try to reconcile the marriage or for other procedural reasons. In any event, the court attempts to make certain no party is seeking a continuance in bad faith or in an attempt to unnecessarily delay divorce proceedings.

What Happens After You File for an Uncontested Divorce in Georgia?

An uncontested divorce in the state of Georgia requires the agreement of both spouses as to property division, spousal and child support, and visitation. Once both spouses sign off on the Martial Settlement Agreement, the judge may approve the divorce without any further action by the parties. If a final hearing is required, only one spouse appears before the judge to obtain the judge's signature on the divorce decree, after which the divorce is final.

What if My Husband Refuses to Mediate the Divorce in Texas?

Divorcing spouses in Texas are encouraged to use mediation as a means of settling their disputes. However, state law does not require spouses to mediate unless a judge orders them to do so. In an effort to facilitate settlement of contested divorces, may counties have established local rules that require mediation before the final hearing. The consequences, if any, for refusing to mediate depend on the type of divorce and local rules of the county where the case has been filed.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Uncontested Divorce in Texas

An uncontested divorce in Texas allows a married couple to end the union legally and on mutually agreed terms. Texas ...

What to Expect at a Pretrial for Divorce in Michigan

A judge uses a pretrial conference to review the status of your divorce case and plan out the next steps for your ...

Steps to Filing for Divorce in Pierce County, Washington

The state of Washington permits you to obtain a divorce if you or your spouse is a resident of the state. State law ...

What Happens During a Divorce Hearing in Florida?

A divorce can feel like a lengthy or intimidating process, especially if spouses have a contested case that requires ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED