Required Period of Separation in Wyoming for Divorce

By Beverly Bird

Wyoming makes divorce relatively easy, at least when it comes to the grounds on which you can file. It's a no-fault state, so you don't have the option of alleging that your spouse did something wrong and that this is why your marriage ended. You can only cite irreconcilable differences or that your spouse is incurably insane, and you don't have to live apart before you file.

Wyoming makes divorce relatively easy, at least when it comes to the grounds on which you can file. It's a no-fault state, so you don't have the option of alleging that your spouse did something wrong and that this is why your marriage ended. You can only cite irreconcilable differences or that your spouse is incurably insane, and you don't have to live apart before you file.

Irreconcilable Differences

In Wyoming, filing for divorce on the basis of irreconcilable differences does not require that you and your spouse live separately. You must simply tell the court in your complaint for divorce that your marriage is no longer working and that you're the aggrieved party -- the one who wants a divorce because of your differences. The only time periods involved are those for establishing residency – which is 60 days in Wyoming – and a waiting period of 20 days after you file your complaint before your divorce can be finalized.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Judicial Separation

Wyoming recognizes judicial separation. The grounds are the same as those for divorce, and the legal process is similar as well. When the court issues a separation decree, it may be open-ended – you can remain separated indefinitely without ever filing for divorce – or the judge might order a date at which you must make a decision whether to divorce or stay together.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Do You Have to Be Separated for 6 Months to File for a Divorce?

References

Related articles

Arkansas Laws for Separation

Marital separation can be particularly complicated in Arkansas because the state recognizes two types of marriages and three kinds of legal separation. Sorting through all the laws and rules pertaining to each can be daunting, but the method of separation you choose comes down to a few basics: your personal preferences, your ability to negotiate and how you got married.

How to File for Legal Separation in North Carolina

Legal separation is one of those terms that can mean different things, depending on where you live. Some states don't recognize it at all – including North Carolina. The state doesn't recognize a judicial process resulting in a separation decree. Separation is still a pivotal aspect of the state's divorce laws, however. You can't file for it, but you generally cannot get divorced without it.

How to Divorce in PA After Two Years When a Spouse Does Not Agree on Settlement

If you file for a no-fault divorce in Pennsylvania, you can get a divorce in six months if you and your spouse are in agreement. However, if the two of you disagree, you must wait at least two years from the date you and your spouse separated. After the two-year waiting period, you can ask the court to grant a divorce.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Does Separation Time Count in Divorce

The length of time you and your spouse are separated can play a part in your divorce proceedings under some ...

Does Someone Have to Be at the Divorce Court Date in North Carolina?

In some respects, North Carolina is the easiest state in which to divorce. You don't have to divide your property or ...

How Many Days Apart Equals a Legal Separation?

Legal separation is not typically defined by the amount of time you and your spouse live apart. In many cases, it ...

Requirements for a Divorce in a Kentucky Prison

Filing for divorce in Kentucky is a relatively straightforward process, with the steps largely influenced by your ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED