How to Respond to Divorce Papers in Massachusetts

By Shannon Johnson

So, your spouse has just served you with divorce papers? Even if you were expecting them, staring at a divorce petition is a reality check. No need to panic. Filing a proper response to divorce papers in Massachusetts requires that you carefully read the divorce petition, draft a response and adhere to the rules governing the process.

Timing

Generally speaking, you must respond to a divorce complaint within 20 days from the day you receive it. In most types of court cases, failure to respond would result in a default judgment, which could mean that the person filing the complaint is awarded everything he or she requested. However, unlike in other types of lawsuits in Massachusetts, failing to respond to a divorce complaint in a timely manner will not result in default. However, even with this rule, it is always more prudent to file a response to a divorce petition.

Answer

An answer is the simplest way to respond to a divorce complaint. Make sure to read each paragraph of the complaint carefully so you are responding as accurately as possible to each allegation raised. If the divorce complaint alleges fault grounds, you should also include any defenses you might have in the answer. For example, a valid defense may be your spouse condoned your actions.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Answer and Counterclaim

You have the right to include a counterclaim in your answer to the divorce petition. A counterclaim is your chance to tell the court your side of the facts, to include any grounds you may have for wanting the divorce and what you are seeking from the divorce. For example, if your spouse petitions for full custody, you could counterclaim, asking the court to grant full custody to you. Another example of a potential counterclaim is requesting alimony payments or a portion of the marital estate treated as premarital property and awarded to you.

Filing and Serving the Response

Check your answer or answer/counterclaim to make sure you have responded to every allegation raised in the complaint, corresponding your responses to match the complaint paragraphs. Sign and date the response, make copies for yourself and for your spouse then file it in with the clerk of court. In addition, you will have to file a Certificate of Service. The Certificate of Service is where you swear under penalty of perjury that you have sent a copy of your response to your spouse, or spouse’s attorney, via regular mail, certified mail or personal delivery.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Answering a Citation of Divorce

References

Resources

Related articles

Can You Get a Divorce in the State of Alabama If One Partner Refuses?

If your spouse is not cooperating in the divorce process, you may think you have no options to get out of an unhappy marriage. But while an uncooperative spouse can make the divorce process take longer and be more costly, the court in Alabama has the authority to grant the divorce even if your spouse opposes it. For example, the judge can grant a default divorce and any requests made by you in your divorce complaint.

The Response to a Petition for Dissolution

Getting served with a petition for dissolution or divorce is unnerving at best, even if you're expecting it. You may have less than a month to react and file a response with the court – usually about 20 days. If you do nothing, your spouse will probably be able to end your marriage by default. This means she'll get much – if not all – of what she asked the court for in her petition.

What Is a Default Divorce in Tennessee?

If your spouse fails completely to respond to the divorce proceedings, Tennessee courts may award you a divorce by default. Because courts would rather give both spouses an opportunity to present their case, default divorce is only granted when the spouse fails to respond to the complaint, does not sign any settlement agreements, and despite your best attempts to notify your spouse, does not appear at any hearings.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

How to File an Answer to a Divorce Summons

When you receive a Summons and Complaint in a divorce action, you typically have 20 days in which to respond. Your ...

Documents Needed for the Respondents in a Divorce Summons

Receiving notice that your spouse filed for divorce can be a stressful experience. Most states require that the filing ...

Do I Have to File an Answer to a Complaint in a Divorce in Pennsylvania?

In Pennsylvania, either spouse can file for divorce by completing a divorce complaint. The divorce complaint will state ...

What Is a Counterclaim for Divorce?

When your spouse serves you with divorce papers, the worst thing you can do is nothing. If you don't respond, you run ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED