Rules for Marital Separation in North Carolina

By Tom Streissguth

If you are planning on a legal separation in North Carolina, there are state laws that apply to your situation. The state will recognize the separation depending on the circumstances, and will also allow you to establish an agreement on the division of property, child support and custody, and other post-marital issues.

Step 1

Establish a new residence, with the intent to live apart. North Carolina will recognize the marital separation as of the first day of physical separation. Both spouses may consult an attorney to explore their rights and options through the separation and negotiate an agreement.

Step 2

Resolve marital issues through mediation or negotiation. In many cases, this is preferable to going to court and having a judge make the decisions. Finalize the agreement in a Separation Agreement and Property Settlement. North Carolina does not require you to finalize the terms of custody, child support and the division of property in a divorce agreement. Therefore, you can make a legally-enforceable private agreement addressing these issues during the separation.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Step 3

Remain separated for a year and a day, if your intention is to obtain a legal divorce. This is the minimum period North Carolina will allow between a marital separation and a final decree of divorce. If you can't resolve property division and other issues, you request a hearing on the matter. If you agree after the case is filed but before the hearing takes place, you can draw up a binding Consent Order and have the judge review and sign it.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Can a Judge Make You Sign Divorce Papers?

References

Related articles

How Many Days Apart Equals a Legal Separation?

Legal separation is not typically defined by the amount of time you and your spouse live apart. In many cases, it depends on whether an agreement or a court order is in place that governs the terms of your separation. State laws vary, and you may be legally separated when an agreement or court order exists, even if neither of you has moved out of the marital home yet.

Can Divorce Proceedings in Arizona Be Stop by the Petitioner?

If you've already filed for divorce in Arizona, but the divorce has not yet been finalized, you can stop the proceedings. However, the requirements for stopping the divorce differ, depending on how far along you are in the process.

Do You Have to Wait 30 Days for a Decree of Divorce in Arkansas?

Even if divorcing spouses agree on all marital issues, such as custody and property division, Arkansas imposes a 30-day waiting period on all divorces. This means the court will not issue a divorce decree until at least 30 days have passed since the date the divorce petition was filed.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Is There Such Thing As a Legal Separation in Pennsylvania?

Legal separation isn’t available in Pennsylvania. If you are no longer living as a married couple, divorce is the only ...

Divorce & Legal Separation Laws in Pennsylvania

Technically, Pennsylvania’s statutes contain no mention of "legal separation." This is a bit misleading, however, ...

Is It Legal to Get Married the Same Day You Get Divorced?

Moving on with your life is an important step after a marriage ends. Because divorces can take time, you may find ...

Procedures for an Amicable Divorce in Maryland

Maryland offers an amicable divorce process for couples who can agree on all the terms of their divorce. This is known ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED