Do You Have to Be Separated for 6 Months to File for a Divorce?

By Beverly Bird

How long you and your spouse must live separately before you can file for divorce – or if you even have to live separately at all – depends on where you live and the grounds on which you file. In some states, if you cite no-fault grounds, no separation period is necessary. You can file on most fault grounds right away in many states as well.

No-Fault Grounds

All states recognize some version of no-fault divorce, but the rules can vary a great deal. For example, in Maryland and North Carolina, you must be separated for one full year. In California, no separation period is required – you can simply tell the court that you have irreconcilable differences. You can cite irreconcilable differences in Illinois as well, but you must still live apart for six months before your divorce can be granted. Pennsylvania doesn't require a separation period, but your spouse must agree in writing that your marriage is over -- and your divorce isn't granted until 90 days pass from the time you file your petition. In New Jersey, you must have irreconcilable differences for six months, but you don't have to live separately during this time.

Fault Grounds

Fault grounds, such as adultery or cruelty, usually don't require that you and your spouse separate before you can file. However, they do require that you provide evidence of your allegations to the court -- and your spouse has the right to defend himself against your charges. If he does so successfully, the court might not grant your divorce.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Do You Have to Be Separated in Indiana Before You Get Divorced?
 

References

Related articles

Divorce Based on Adultery in Illinois

If your spouse has strayed, you might have good reasons for wanting to file for divorce on grounds of adultery -- but doing so might not result in more than some personal satisfaction. Illinois recognizes adultery as divorce grounds, but you could probably end your marriage much more quickly and economically if you filed on the state's no-fault grounds of irreconcilable differences instead.

The 12 Grounds for a Divorce in Mississippi

Mississippi recognizes 12 fault-based grounds for divorce, and if you choose to file for divorce on one of these grounds, you bear the burden of proving to the court that the ground is appropriate for your divorce. Mississippi also recognizes no-fault divorce, and many filers choose no-fault grounds since proving fault often takes longer and is more difficult.

Can You Get a Divorce in 30 to 31 Days in Georgia?

Filing for divorce can be hard and unpleasant, making it likely you will want your divorce finalized as soon as possible. Georgia law allows a married couple to obtain a divorce 31 days after the defendant is served with a copy of the divorce complaint under certain circumstances. Whether a divorce will be granted this quickly depends on the complexity of the divorce and whether the spouses have signed a settlement agreement.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Can You Get Divorced in Pennsylvania Without a Court Appearance?

When spouses hotly contest issues between them, this invariably requires at least one court appearance so a judge can ...

Quick Divorce in Virginia

Getting a quick divorce in Virginia depends on your capacity for patience and your definition of quick – there's no ...

Required Period of Separation in Wyoming for Divorce

Wyoming makes divorce relatively easy, at least when it comes to the grounds on which you can file. It's a no-fault ...

What Happens if I Refuse to Sign a Separation Agreement in Virginia?

Virginia is one of a handful of states that does not recognize the phrase “legal separation,” but this doesn’t mean you ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED