Does a Spouse Have to Pay for Health Insurance Until Age 65 After Divorce in Delaware?

By Jim Thomas

The legal obligations of your former spouse are spelled out in the divorce agreement or court decree. He'll have to pay your health insurance premiums in an amount and for a length of time ordered by the court — if the court orders him to so do. Courts in Delaware have considerable flexibility to craft divorce agreements, taking into account factors such as the financial status of the parties, the standard of living established during the marriage, the age, physical health, and emotional health of the parties, and the duration of the marriage.

During and After Divorce

If you are covered under your spouse's health insurance plan during marriage, that coverage continues during the divorce process. Coverage cannot be canceled until the divorce is finalized. However, you won't be covered after the divorce becomes official, because you're no longer a legal dependent eligible for coverage. So you need to arrange for health care coverage before your divorce is finalized. One way is to ask your former spouse to pick up the costs of your health care as part of the divorce settlement.

Health Care Costs as Alimony

A Delaware court may award alimony in an amount and for a period of time it sees fit, without regard to marital conduct. The court considers the amount of alimony that is necessary to meet your "reasonable needs." All sorts of expenses, including the cost of health insurance, are factored into a determination of alimony payments. If you are unlikely to be able to afford the cost of health insurance until you become eligible for Medicare at age 65, you can ask the court to extend alimony for health care payments until that age.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Other Health Care Options

If your health care coverage is terminated by divorce, you have several options. You can purchase private health insurance coverage using your own funds. You also can apply for coverage under COBRA, a federal law that gives you the right to receive continued health care coverage from your spouse's employer, if the company has 20 or more employees, after the divorce. COBRA has drawbacks. You have to apply within 60 days of your divorce to be eligible, it's very expensive, and it only lasts for 36 months.

Considerations

Maintaining health care can be absolutely essential for many people, especially if you have previous medical conditions. If you stand to lose your health care benefits after a divorce, it's important to discuss the issue with a professional during the divorce process. In some cases, for example, it might be in the best interests of a couple to live separately, but not formally divorce, in order to maintain health care benefits for one spouse under the other spouse's health insurance.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Who Gets the Responsibility of Medical Insurance After a Divorce in New Hampshire?

References

Related articles

When You Get Divorced How Long Does Your Insurance Coverage Last?

How long your insurance coverage lasts after divorce depends on the kind of insurance your ex-spouse has. If your ex-spouse works for a large employer, federal law permits you to keep your insurance for up to 36 months. If your ex-spouse works for a small employer, state law could allow you to keep your insurance, but the length of time you may keep it varies depending on the law of the state where the employer is located. However, you might fare better by buying your own insurance upon divorce because you could save money and obtain better coverage than under your ex-spouse's insurance.

Spouse's Rights to Military Benefits

As a civilian spouse, your military benefits are typically based on your marital status and a divorce may mean losing those benefits. For example, you may have to give up military health insurance and the ability to shop at the exchange and commissary. However, federal law may allow you to keep these benefits if you have been married for at least 20 years. A divorce court can also award you a portion of your spouse’s retirement pay and can force your spouse to sign up for a plan that pays benefits to you if he dies after retirement.

Remarriage Before Divorce Is Final in Maryland

Generally, you are considered married until your divorce is final, and you cannot legally remarry before your current marriage is terminated -- even if you are in the process of divorcing. However, Maryland recognizes two types of divorce, which may complicate the issue of what is considered a “final” divorce.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Equitable Distribution Without Divorce in North Carolina

North Carolina requires spouses to live apart for a certain time as one of its grounds for obtaining a divorce, but ...

After a Divorce Ruling, What Is a QDRO?

A qualified domestic relations order, also known as a QDRO, is a legal document that allows an individual to give ...

What Are the Laws in Michigan for People Who Separated for Years But Now Want a Divorce?

Spouses might decide to live apart for a while for any number of reasons. They may be unwilling to totally pull the ...

How Many Days Apart Equals a Legal Separation?

Legal separation is not typically defined by the amount of time you and your spouse live apart. In many cases, it ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED