Is the State of Maryland a No-Fault State for Divorces?

By Jimmy Verner

State laws normally include several grounds for divorce. Among the common grounds for divorce are adultery, cruelty, abandonment and desertion. Maryland recognizes these grounds for divorce, but in 2011 added a no-fault ground: a one-year separation between the spouses. This means that the spouses must have separate residences for at least one year and must not have sexual relations during that time.

Mutual and Voluntary Not Required

Before Maryland amended the one-year-of-separation ground for divorce, the separation had to be both mutual and voluntary. In other words, both spouses had to agree to the separation -- and both spouses had to agree voluntarily. Thus, even when the spouses lived apart from each other and had no sexual relations for a year, one of the spouses could block the divorce by claiming that he did not agree to the separation and did not separate voluntarily. Now, a mere separation, without regard to the spouses' intents, makes true no-fault divorce possible in Maryland.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Separation & Divorce in Virginia State
 

References

Related articles

What Is a Unilateral Divorce?

Unilateral divorce describes a divorce in which one spouse terminates the marriage without the consent of the other spouse. Spouses can do this by filing for divorce on no-fault grounds, which allows couples to divorce regardless of whether the other spouse consents and without casting blame on the other spouse for the marriage coming to an end. Regardless of the state you live in, you may file for no-fault divorce.

Grounds for Divorce in Fayetteville, North Carolina

Divorce in North Carolina is governed by state law. Whether you are in Fayetteville, Durham or Ashville, the grounds for divorce are the same. North Carolina is a no-fault state; therefore, you don't need to prove your spouse caused the end of your marriage. Separation for one year and incurable insanity are the only grounds for divorce in North Carolina. A handful of grounds exist for obtaining a legal separation in North Carolina, however, they are rarely used.

How to Get a No Fault Divorce in Arkansas

In Arkansas, you do not need to place blame on either spouse in order to seek a divorce. Instead, the courts will dissolve the marriage so long as the couple has lived separately for at least 18 months. Generally, it is easier to obtain a divorce when you are not trying to assign guilt. Additionally, the process may be less complicated and quicker if the couple can agree to the terms of the divorce, instead of arguing before the court.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Does Separation Time Count in Divorce

The length of time you and your spouse are separated can play a part in your divorce proceedings under some ...

90 Day Cooling Off Period for a Divorce in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania requires a 90-day "cooling off" period for no-fault or "mutual consent" divorces, which provides an ...

How Long Will No Fault Divorce Take to Be Finalized for New York?

While New York allows couples to divorce on the grounds that the marriage is irretrievably broken, the divorce process ...

How Long Do You Have to Be Separated to Get a Divorce in Virginia?

If your marriage is no longer working, you have the option of filing for legal separation or divorce. Unfortunately, in ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED