What Is the Statute of Limitations on Will Contests?

By Marie Murdock

As a child, relative or heir of a deceased person, you may be concerned that the will of the decedent was fraudulently executed. The signature may appear wrong, the decedent may have been suffering from dementia at the time of the signing of the will, or the will may have left a substantial sum to a paid caregiver such that you feel the will was signed under duress or intimidation. Under these circumstances, you may question the validity of the will in court by filing a will contest action. The time limit to file a will contest varies from state to state.

Alabama

In Alabama, if you are an heir or devisee who would have a valid interest in the estate of a deceased, you may file a will contest action in probate court any time after the will has been presented to the probate judge for filing but prior to the judge signing the order admitting it to probate. Once the will has been admitted to probate by order entered by the judge, you will generally only have six months in which to contest the will. The six-month time period may be extended to twelve months from the date of the appointment of a guardian-ad-litem for minors or mentally incapacitated persons who were not originally represented in the probate or from the date of the removal of their incapacity or disability.

Texas

In Texas, you may only contest a will for up to two years after it is admitted to probate. If fraud can be proven, however, the time frame changes to two years after discovery of the fraudulent act. Also, a minor or incapacitated person will have two years after they either reach the age of majority or regain capacity in which to contest a will in Texas.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Michigan

In Michigan, there is no time limit to contest a will provided it was admitted through an informal probate proceeding. Most wills are admitted through the informal probate process, provided complex matters don’t require a formal probate. In a formal probate proceeding, however, you are required to contest the will within 21 days from its admission.

Other States

Washington has a very strict statute of limitations requiring that you contest the will within four months after its being admitted to probate. The courts will not extend this time frame even if fraud can be proven. In Florida, you only have 90 days from the date of receipt of the notice of administration after admission of the will to contest. If, however, a will has not yet been admitted to probate and a formal notice of administration is received, the time period is shortened to 20 days. Consult with an estate attorney in the state where the probate is taking place to ensure that your will contest action is filed timely.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
Laws Pertaining to Contesting a Will in Arizona
 

References

Resources

Related articles

What Is a Divorce With Prejudice?

A divorce with prejudice, in a marriage that has been dissolved and custody and financial issues decided, means both parties are barred from filing a future divorce action against the other. The term "prejudice" in this context refers only to whether or not a party may refile a divorce action. It does not refer to any unlawful prejudice by the judge based on gender, race, religion or age toward a party.

What Is the Contested Divorce Process in Alabama?

If you are contemplating filing for divorce or have been served papers in a contested divorce in the state of Alabama, you will need to become familiar with the process. A contested divorce can be one in which one spouse opposes the divorce, or it can be a case in which the couple can't agree on all of the terms and conditions, such as property settlement and child custody, upon which they are to dissolve the marriage. Contested divorces are generally more time-consuming, complicated and expensive than uncontested ones.

Can a Person Get a Divorce in Florida Without the Consent of the Other Party?

In Florida, a divorcing couple is not required to prove fault to end their marriage. One side need only allege that the marriage is irretrievably broken. Sometimes, though, the opposing party does not agree that the marriage is broken and decides to contest the divorce action. In these cases, the court might order marriage counseling or delay the case to give the parties a cooling-off period to discuss whether to proceed with the divorce.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help. Wills & Trusts

Related articles

How to Contest a Will in Louisiana

A person who creates a will is known as the testator. The process of administering the testator’s wishes in Louisiana ...

The Florida Rules for Setting Aside a Divorce Fraudulently Obtained

Whether one spouse lies about the date of a hearing or the paternity of a child, Florida courts may allow the other ...

Can I Contest a Will in Ohio?

In most states, you can challenge, or contest, a will if you have “standing,” meaning a financial stake in the will, ...

Grounds for Contesting a Will in Georgia

In Georgia, the personal representative appointed in the will must file the will for probate in the probate court where ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED