Washington State Alimony Laws

By Bernadette A. Safrath

Washington state law sets forth the procedure for dividing property and awarding alimony when spouses divorce or a domestic partnership dissolves. Alimony, also called spousal support or maintenance, is a monetary award paid by one spouse to the other after marital property has been divided by the court.

Alimony and Property

The main factor a court considers when determining the amount and duration of alimony is the value of each spouse's property after the marital assets are divided. Washington is a community property state, which generally means each spouse will receive half of the marital assets. However, the spouses' financial circumstances can become uneven after a divorce if one spouse has excessive separate property. Separate property is property owned before the marriage, received as a gift or inheritance during the marriage, or property purchased during the marriage with other separate property.

Amount of Alimony

In addition to the spouses' financial circumstances, a Washington court considers other factors when setting the alimony award. These factors include the spouses' ages and health conditions, the standard of living established during the marriage and paying spouse's ability to meet his alimony obligation while meeting his own needs. Additionally, the court will examine the time the receiving spouse might need to obtain training or education sufficient to gain employment and become self-sufficient. Such employment should be in the field of the spouse's "skill, interests [or] style of life." One factor the court will not consider is a spouse's misconduct, such as adultery or abandonment, leading to the end of the marriage or partnership.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Duration of Alimony

The last factor is the duration of the marriage or domestic partnership. This factor is the most important in determining how long alimony should be paid. For example, long-term marriages, which are marriages of 25 years or longer, generally require permanent maintenance, as determined in the 2007 case Marriage of Rockwell. The court held that spouses in such long-term marriages should be in equal positions for the rest of their lives so the financially weaker spouse will receive alimony to even the spouses' financial circumstances. This case is binding law on counties in Washington's appellate division, King and Snohomish, but is followed by many other Washington trial courts. For marriages with a duration of less than 25 years, Washington courts often follow a ratio of one to three. This means that for every three years of marriage, a spouse will receive one year of maintenance. For example, if a marriage lasted 15 years, alimony payments would last for five years and a ten year marriage would permit alimony for a duration of three years.

Termination of Alimony

Washington law states that an order for spousal maintenance or support may terminate prior to the date set forth in the order in limited circumstances. If the paying spouse dies, his obligation to pay ceases. Additionally, if the receiving spouse dies or gets remarried, she is no longer entitled to alimony.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Alimony Laws in Tennessee


Related articles

Divorce & Alimony in Illinois

During divorce, couples need to decide whether one spouse will pay alimony to the other spouse. Every marriage is different — some spouses can agree amicably about alimony, whereas others need guidance from the courts. Alimony, known as "spousal maintenance" in Illinois, often depends on your financial circumstances. Each spouse should know the maintenance factors set by Illinois statute and understand the types of maintenance available to Illinois couples.

How to Calculate Lifetime Alimony in Florida

An understanding of the factors involved in a determination of the type and amount of alimony that can be awarded creates more realistic expectations heading into court. In Florida, lifetime alimony, also known as permanent alimony, can be deemed appropriate in certain situations. While the parties can reach a mutual agreement on the issue of alimony, the court will look to specific factors, including financial need and ability to pay, in ordering lifetime alimony payment amounts. Further, modification or termination may be requested if there is a substantial change of circumstances.

How to Calculate Alimony in New Hampshire

The marriage relationship is supportive in nature. For that reason, courts in New Hampshire are sensitive to the needs of both spouses after divorce, and have the authority to order one spouse to pay financial support to the other for a specific period of time or indefinitely. This is known as alimony. Although there is no set formula for determining alimony in New Hampshire, there are certain factors a court considers when awarding or modifying it.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

In Georgia, What Determines Alimony?

Alimony in Georgia is also referred to as spousal support. Georgia courts do not automatically award spousal support -- ...

Wyoming Laws on Alimony

Alimony, or spousal support, is money paid by a party to a former spouse. Wyoming, like all states, has a specific set ...

How to Figure Alimony Payments in Iowa

After divorce, one spouse is sometimes left without financial resources to support herself, but alimony -- sometimes ...

How Are Alimony Payments Determined?

Alimony is never a sure thing in a divorce. In most states, it comes down to the discretion of a judge. Congress has ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED