West Virginia State Laws on Spouse Inheritance

By Heather Frances J.D.

In West Virginia, your spouse can inherit from you under the terms of your will or by laws that govern inheritance. Although some of these provisions are automatic -- for example, you cannot disinherit your spouse -- crafting an estate plan can help ensure your assets are distributed as you wish, without any unintended consequences.

Non-Probate Assets

Not all of your property goes through probate after death. Non-probate assets, such as life insurance, go directly to a named beneficiary, which is often a surviving spouse. In West Virginia, another common non-probate asset is jointly owned property – such as real estate, bank accounts, or vehicles – which passes to the surviving owner if the title documents specify the owners were joint tenants with the right of survivorship. If you and your spouse own property as joint tenants or tenants by the entirety with right of survivorship, that property will pass automatically to you when your spouse dies. However, West Virginia does not automatically assume joint ownership includes a right of survivorship. Without the proper wording in your title documents, West Virginia may interpret your ownership status as a tenancy in common, which means the property will pass under your will as a probate asset instead of directly to your spouse.

Wills

In West Virginia, anyone of sound mind and at least 18 years old can make a will to distribute his probate assets. Your will is valid under West Virginia law if it is in writing, signed by you -- or at your direction and in your presence -- and signed by two witnesses. If you divorce after you make your will, West Virginia law voids provisions in your will that favor your ex-spouse, but the will itself remains valid. For example, if a will you made before your divorce says your wife inherits all of your property, she will inherit nothing under that will if you die after your divorce; instead, your property will go to the other beneficiaries named in your will.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More

Intestacy

If you die without a will, Chapter 42 of West Virginia Code will determine who inherits your probate assets. Your surviving spouse will inherit your entire estate only if neither you nor your surviving spouse has surviving children from a previous relationship, including children born out of wedlock. If you have surviving children from a previous relationship, such as children from a first marriage, your spouse will inherit half of your estate. If you don’t have surviving children from a previous relationship but your spouse does, your spouse will inherit three-fifths of your estate and your other heirs will inherit the remaining two-fifths.

Disinheriting a Spouse

If you wish to disinherit your spouse under the terms of your will, you may not be able to do so under West Virginia law. Surviving spouses in West Virginia have the right to take what is called an elective share of the estate instead of inheriting under the will or as provided under intestacy laws. The surviving spouse’s share depends on the length of the marriage, up to 50 percent if the couple was married 15 years or more.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
FAQs on a Last Will & Testament
 

References

Related articles

Getting a Heir's Name on a Deed

You may decide as part of your estate planning to deed an interest in your property to an heir prior to your death to avoid probate of the property. There are several methods to accomplish this; however, it is always best to consult with an estate-planning attorney to discuss all options as well as the tax consequences involved.

Can I Keep My Assets Separate From My Wife in a Will?

When you undertake estate planning, you may not want to transfer assets to your wife. The degree to which you may want to deny assets to your wife upon your death may vary. You may only want to keep certain assets from your wife so that your children receive them because those goods mean more to them. On the other hand, you may not want to leave your wife anything at all. If you are married at the time of your death, your wife generally has a right to a portion of your estate. You can leave specific assets to other beneficiaries. The degree to which you can keep your wife from inheriting your assets depends on the state in which you live.

What Effect Does a Divorce Have on a Will in Georgia?

Georgia is the only state, as of 2010, to allow a testator, or the person making a will, to disinherit a spouse. This makes the state one of the safest places to get a divorce from the perspective of planning your estate. There is no window of time when a spouse can be granted part of your estate if you die while you are separated or your divorce is in progress but before it is final.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Legal Requirements for a Surviving Spouse Regarding an Estate in Michigan

Michigan’s probate laws are somewhat lopsided in favor of wives. It is one of only a few states that still recognize a ...

Can a Spouse in Arizona Inherit Property When the Other Spouse Dies?

The fact that Arizona is a community property state complicates its inheritance statutes to some extent. Under ...

Wyoming Estate Laws

Wyoming estate laws set forth how your property will be divided upon your death. Your estate includes everything you ...

Texas Laws Concerning the Inheritance of a Husband & Wife

Texas laws on inheritances are detailed, governing topics such as whether an inheritance you receive while you are ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED