How to Get a Wife to Sign Final Divorce Papers

By Teo Spengler

You do not require your wife's signature to finalize a divorce; the only signature you need on the final divorce document is the judge's. Compared to yesteryear, divorces are easy to come by in modern America, with all 50 states offering no-fault divorce that does not require spousal agreement or proof of bad conduct.

Divorce Procedure

It is always easier when both spouses wish to divorce, but life doesn't always work that way. Sometimes only one partner is ready to call it quits, but one is all it takes to get a divorce. One spouse files a divorce petition and serves it on the other -- and the divorce is in process. Whether the other spouse files a response or not, the case moves toward divorce. The divorce is entered when the judge signs the final judgment.

Spousal Signature

You may move ahead faster with the divorce, however, if you can get your spouse's signature -- but on a marital settlement agreement, not the final divorce papers. Resolving your financial and child custody issues amicably puts your case in the fast-lane to a finalized divorce. An experienced mediator may help your spouse see the wisdom of settling issues amicably and help the two of you find middle ground. After your spouse signs the agreement, you will still need to have the judge sign your paperwork and finalize the divorce.

Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
Divorce is never easy, but we can help. Learn More
How Much Time Does it Take to Get a Divorce After Signing the Papers?

References

Related articles

Tennessee Divorce Laws: How Soon After Divorce Can You Remarry?

Sometimes a divorcing spouse is anxious to finish the divorce because he wants to remarry. Technically, Tennessee law has no restrictions on how long you must be divorced to remarry, but you should wait at least 30 days. If your ex-spouse decides to appeal the case during this time period, you won't be divorced after all.

How to Divorce in PA After Two Years When a Spouse Does Not Agree on Settlement

If you file for a no-fault divorce in Pennsylvania, you can get a divorce in six months if you and your spouse are in agreement. However, if the two of you disagree, you must wait at least two years from the date you and your spouse separated. After the two-year waiting period, you can ask the court to grant a divorce.

Is It Legal to Get Married the Same Day You Get Divorced?

Moving on with your life is an important step after a marriage ends. Because divorces can take time, you may find another partner and voice your intent to marry as soon as the divorce can be finalized. However, some states restrict your ability to remarry until a specified period has passed from the date the divorce is granted.

Get Divorced Online

Related articles

Do You Have to Wait 30 Days for a Decree of Divorce in Arkansas?

Even if divorcing spouses agree on all marital issues, such as custody and property division, Arkansas imposes a 30-day ...

How Long for an Uncontested Divorce in Louisiana If a Spouse Committed Adultery?

In Louisiana, a divorce is uncontested when both spouses agree on the terms of the divorce, such as custody, spousal ...

Can a Judge Make You Sign Divorce Papers?

In days gone by, both spouses had to agree to a divorce in order to end a marriage, but that is no longer the case. ...

What Happens If Divorce Papers Go Unsigned?

During the divorce process, the court and individual spouses’ attorneys ask both parties to sign agreements, petitions ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED