Wills & Probate in North Carolina

By Beverly Bird

If a will is valid and there are no objections to it, and if the estate owes no taxes to either North Carolina or the IRS, probate in the state can take as little as three months. North Carolina offers abbreviated probate processes for estates where the entire value of assets is no more than $10,000 or when a surviving spouse inherits the deceased’s entire estate.

If a will is valid and there are no objections to it, and if the estate owes no taxes to either North Carolina or the IRS, probate in the state can take as little as three months. North Carolina offers abbreviated probate processes for estates where the entire value of assets is no more than $10,000 or when a surviving spouse inherits the deceased’s entire estate.

Will Requirements

Wills may be printed, handwritten or oral in North Carolina. Printed and oral wills require two witnesses but handwritten, or holographic, wills require none. A witness may be a beneficiary in the will provided that there is one more witness in addition to that person. Otherwise, the deceased’s bequest to the witness becomes null and void. Self-proved wills, accompanied by a notarized statement by the testator and her witnesses that the will is authentic, are accepted. You can disinherit a child in North Carolina, but not a spouse.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Appointment of Executor

Probate opens when the court approves the will’s choice of an executor to oversee the distribution of the deceased’s estate. The executor must be at least 18 years of age, literate and clear of any felony convictions. If the named executor doesn’t live in North Carolina, then the court appoints an additional agent within the state to act as a liaison between the court and the executor.

Payment of Estate Debts

One of the first duties of the executor is publication of a notice to creditors in a newspaper in the county where the estate is being probated. She must also send direct notice to all creditors she knows about. If the estate doesn’t have enough money to to pay all creditors who make a claim after receiving notice, debts secured by collateral are paid first, followed by funeral expenses of the deceased and taxes. Unsecured claims are either not paid or the remaining funds are apportioned equally between them. The deceased’s immediate family is also permitted a year’s allowance to live on. This money can come from the estate’s cash or the liquidation of personal property, but not from real estate.

Organization and Distribution of Assets

Within three months of taking office, the executor must file an inventory of the estate’s assets with the court, listing each item and its approximate value. After payment of the deceased’s debts, estate taxes and the allotment of any family allowance, the executor may disburse the remaining money and property in the estate to the beneficiaries named in the will. If any real estate has a mortgage against it, the mortgage transfers to and becomes the responsibility of the beneficiary getting the property.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
Probate Laws for No Will in the State of Maine

References

Related articles

What Does Probating a Will Mean?

Tennessee Estate Laws on Intestacy

North Carolina's Inheritance Law

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help.

Related articles

Rules for Witnessing a Will

Who Can Probate a Will in the State of Alabama?

The Inheritance Statute in Washington, DC

Can an Executor of an Estate File Bankruptcy on Behalf of the Deceased in the State of Iowa?

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED