How to Write a Will in Pennsylvania

By Lauren Miller

In Pennsylvania, any person over 18 years old who is mentally fit can make a will. The Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes set forth the provisions for the creation of legally binding wills in the state. Hiring the services of an attorney can help you navigate the state’s will requirements. However, you can also write a will on your own at no cost by carefully following the state guidelines.

Step 1

Designate two people to serve as your witnesses. Although Pennsylvania does not require a will to have a witness when signed, lawyers usually provide two witnesses. Having witnesses makes it easier to prove the signature of the deceased when the will is presented to the local Register of Wills for probate.

Step 2

Open a document in a word processing program or use blank sheets of business letter-size paper to write your will. An entirely handwritten document is called a holographic will.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan

Step 3

Type or write “Last Will and Testament” as the title of the document.

Step 4

Type or write your name, your address, the date and a declaration that you are of sound mind. This is the introductory clause.

Step 5

Type or write a sentence declaring that this is your last will and that it revokes any previous will or codicils that you have written. This is your declaration clause.

Step 6

Make a list of all of your personal property and the individuals you would like to bequeath items to in your will. Per Pennsylvania law, any assets jointly owned by married couples will be automatically passed to the surviving spouse. If you want to create a trust for your children, assign a trustee to hold the property in the trust until your children reach an age you designate to receive the property.

Step 7

Make a list of all of your financial assets, including bank accounts, stocks, bonds, real estate and other financial holdings.

Step 8

Write a section detailing how your property and financial assets should be allocated based on the list you made. Include a list of the items and assets to be set aside in a trust for your children. This is the bequest clause.

Step 9

Write a section detailing how many remaining items that are not included in your will should be allocated. This is your residuary clause.

Step 10

Designate an individual to serve as the executor of your will. Write a paragraph detailing your appointment of this person to this role.

Step 11

Write a section detailing guardianship arrangements if you have children under the age of 18. This is helpful even if you are married in case you and your spouse die simultaneously. Designate an alternate guardian in the event that your first choice is not able to take care of your children. This is your guardianship clause.

Step 12

Save and print the will. Sign the will if you are physically capable. If not, you can mark your will in front of your two witnesses who will also sign the will in your presence. This makes the will valid according to Pennsylvania law. If you are unable to make a mark, one of the witnesses can sign for you if you declare in front of them that the document is your will.

Protect your loved ones. Start My Estate Plan
Guide to Writing a Will

References

Resources

Related articles

Steps to Writing a Will

You don’t have to spend your life savings on your estate planning -- in fact, most homeowners with a simple estate and less than $1 million in assets can write a basic will themselves, without the expense involved in hiring an attorney. Writing your own will is relatively easy and inexpensive, and affords you the flexibility to update your estate plan whenever your circumstances demand it.

How to Make a Will Legally Binding Regarding Custody of Children

A last will and testament is more than just a document describing how your property should be distributed after your death. A will can also be used to define who should receive custody of any children. What makes a will legally binding varies by state. One example of standards for drafting a will is the Uniform Probate Code (UPC). As of January 2012, 17 states have adopted the UPC and it is endorsed by the American Bar Association.

How do I Create a Basic Will in Maine?

If you are a resident of Maine, unless you create a will, your assets will be distributed after your death according to the laws of intestacy contained in Part 1 of Title 18-A, Article 2 of the Maine Revised Statutes. A basic will in Maine can be made by anyone over 18 years of age. It must be in writing, and must be signed by the person making the will and at least two credible witnesses.

LegalZoom. Legal help is here. Start Here. Wills. Trusts. Attorney help.

Related articles

How to Write a Will in Texas

Texas recognizes three types of wills. Oral, handwritten and typewritten wills are all valid in the state. Texas ...

How to Write My Own Will

Writing your own will is a relatively straightforward process if your assets and bequests are also straightforward. In ...

How to Fill Out Wills

Form wills simplify do-it-yourself will drafting. A good form will, prepared or approved by your state bar association, ...

How to Make My Own Will Free of Charge

Writing your own will is a process that does not need to cost money. If you have limited assets and straightforward ...

Browse by category
Ready to Begin? GET STARTED